We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks charm although located in beautiful setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie des Etangs

Brasserie des Etangs
Boulevard du Souverain 275, Brussels, Belgium
+32 2 779 36 19
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,204 of 2,309 restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
tervuren
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Lacks charm although located in beautiful setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This restaurant is part of a chain and you can tell. The location is really nice but the restaurant is more like a factory. People running on and off with food. Service mostfly in french, flemish if you keep on insisting. If it would not be in a nice location, this place would have a lot less customers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

48% Recommend
    6
    36
    23
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food and good to go with children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We are quite frequent clients since there is a playground and also a room with toys inside, which allow parents to enjoy lunch! Setting is nice, very green around. Menu is not extensive but food is good. it can be crowded and a bit Slow and noisy on Sundays. With good weather the terrace is very pleasant. service could be more friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food spoilt by bad service - a shame”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A Sad Tale: An excellent greeting by a very pleasant helpful manageress. After this service plumetted. We wait 20 minutes after getting the menus to order..The waiter tells my friend he cant have roast potatoes with his steak (although they are available with other dishes) but has to have frites and then bruskly walks away). However the food is very good. We then wait 20 minutes for the plates to be cleared after we are finished - we are lucky as the next door table waits about 30 plus minutes. We then wait a further 15 minutes to order the desert once we got the menus. .. again food very good. The lady at the next table gets up to get 3 spoons herself as the waiter has now dissapeared..At every stage we have to signal to the waiter to come....Finally we wait about 10 minutes with the pay machine beeping at us.as the waiter goes off while taking payment ...so we get up to leave requesting our visa receipt en route for the door. We comment to the manageress that the food was good but service poor...The waiter then chases us down the street sheeking and waving his arms that we should never come back again to the restaurant. ...We wont - but we will ensure that everyone we know is aware of the kind of waiter serving at this restaurant - a great pity.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“good classical cooking in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

One of the best terraces in Brussels, in the beautiful Woluwe park, where you can also just go for a drink on the meadow with annexed playground. I went for a drink last week with my husband and small child and decided to go back for dinner, and I was not disappointed. The food was very good, nothing creative but good quality meat and fish well cooked and presented and delicious desserts. They serve Belgian classics such as meatballs and waterzooi so it's a good place to go with guests from abroad. Service was good and quite friendly for Brussels standards, and the place is chldren oriented while keeping a certain allure of classy place. When we went for a drink we broke a glass and they replaced both our drinks with a smile, most appreciated. The bill was less than expected, about 200 for 4 people eating between 2 and 3 courses wiith a (low end) wine. Really a place to return. Book imperatively when the weather is nice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“unfriendly but nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

nice setting, Good kitchen, several different dishes.
But unfriendly, only french speaking, no english, no dutch.
It was a very busy and hot day

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie des Etangs also viewed

 
Waterloo, Walloon Brabant Province
 

Been to Brasserie des Etangs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie des Etangs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.