We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We don't care if you like us or not” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Les Crustaces

Les Crustaces
8, Quai aux Briques, Brussels 1000, Belgium
2 51 15 64 4
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,479 of 2,486 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Apex, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We don't care if you like us or not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went here on recommendation of our hotel. I am not sure they would have let us in otherwise. Stuffy French with an attitude. We ordered bouillabaisse and another fish dish, wine, sparkling water, desert. Food was fresh and well done but not overly memorable. Services was inattentive. There were french folks eating here, so this must be where they eat. The best part was at the end of the meal my wife ordered a glass of water. We specified tap water. We were refused. No tap. Wonder how they wash their dishes? Had we not ordered water earlier, I might have understood, but his was just arrogance. They did not care. And I am sure they do not care that I have written this review.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    81
    55
    46
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasteless mussels”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I ordered a classic dish of mussels with white wine. The dish was not good - poor taste and I don't think the mussels were fresh. I would not go back and I do not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wouldnt go back, but the 23 Euro menu is good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Came here last week. Its along a row of tourist trap restaurants; it was late, we needed food..
Menu choice is extensive, which can often mean you'll be eating frozen food. I had oysters to start and half a lobster. The oysters came only with lemon, no vinaigrette. The lobster was returned as it was incorrectly cooked with the wrong sauce. The second one was correctly prepared (just butter) but was over cooked to my taste, tough and rubbery. Also, It didn't come with side dish, so I had 3 mouthfuls of chewy lobster tail for my main course! Needless to say I was starving at breakfast the next morning! Colleagues had the steak, which in fairness, looked good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forlì, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“So good we had lunch and dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have no idea where the people who wrote such negative reviews ate - we had such a brilliant lunch that we went back again for dinner the same evening. We chose Les Crustaces because it was the busiest and most popular looking of all the restaurants on the Quai aux Brisques and we weren't disappointed. We hadn't booked but the waiter (who incidentally was charming all through the meal) found us a table outside. Two of us ordered one of the set menus and two of us ate à la carte. Everything we ordered was beautifully presented, the shellfish was really, really fresh and wonderfully delicious. The wine list was quite good and the wine we chose - a white Burgundy - was very good. We rounded the meal off by sampling some of their desserts which were excellent, especially the tarte tatin.

We were really full after lunch and convinced we would skip dinner but by half past nine we were edging towards hungry so we went back again. This time we ate inside and ordered some of the hot dishes including the lobster bisque which was great and gratinated oysters - wonderful!

Again this was the busiest restaurant on the Quai, many of the others looked totally deserted. We had a really good experience and would certainly go back the next time we are in Brussels.

Also worth mentioning - considering the quality of the shellfish and the things we ordered, the bill was very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Inconsistent maybe?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a delightful meal at Les Crustaces. Afterwards, I read the reviews and was very surprised. First, the restaurant was spotlessly clean and the tables attractively set. Service was prompt and attentive throughout the meal. We both ordered the 3-course meal for 23 euro. My spouse had the grilled scampi as a starter and salmon as a main - she enjoyed both. I started with the fish soup. which was outstanding. I had a "half" pot of mussels as the main - it was almost more than I could eat and delicious. A half bottle of house wine and a couple of tasty desserts rounded out our meals. Maybe the staff read a couple of the recent negative reviews and cleaned up their act - who knows. Really 4 and a half stars by me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Crustaces also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Les Crustaces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Crustaces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.