We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent choice near the main market” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Les Crustaces

Les Crustaces
8, Quai aux Briques, Brussels 1000, Belgium
2 51 15 64 4
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,406 of 2,309 restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ko Samui, Thailand
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Decent choice near the main market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We enjoyed an eraly evening set menu. The Food was generally ok without being overwhelming, the service was very good, prompt & Friendly & informative. We sat outside in a shaded area by yhe water & it was very nice to see the sun go down, the beer menu is limited which is dissapointing for Belgium, the Wine list slightly better & the various ala Carte or set menu offered decetn choices, great no.... but pretty decent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

41% Recommend
    15
    65
    45
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Time for reflection”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Walked here on the hottest day in Brussels this year and, being quite early for lunch had no problem finding a shaded seat. I checked the time and quoted the Gilbert & Sullivan line, "Only mad dogs and Englishmen go out in the mid-day sun", as, yes, it was almost exactly mid-day. We were given menus a few minutes later, took 5 minutes or so to decide, and our waiter took our order for both food and wine. The wine was delivered within minutes which we then sipped as we chatted. I then took a photo of my wife and she took one of me, both in evident possession of our wine. With the wonders of modern photography, the date and time are clearly recorded: 12.20 and 12.21 respectively. Our starters arrived at 13.05! This was preceded by increasing bewilderment as to why this should be taking so long followed by several exchanges with the waiters, who were visibly embarrassed. Upon their being delivered I made it clear to our waiter that we were unhappy and he tried to excuse the time taken by saying it depended on what had been ordered; in our case a shrimp cocktail and mushrooms on toast. One required cooking (even the least competent amongst us has cooked mushrooms!!!), the other involved shoving some coarsely cut lettuce and two slices each of cucumber and tomato into a pot on top of which was a scoop of shrimps - even I would not have been challenged in that preparation and I'm sure would have added a bit of dressing to the salad. Perhaps this was too challenging in view of the “limited time” they had to prepare it - around about an hour! Having made it clear to our waiter that this excuse was both ridiculous and unacceptable, he conveyed this to the maitre d' who came over, listened to what we said, went off and then returned to inform us that according to 'the computer' we had only waited 20 minutes between placing the order and receiving our starter. We have travelled a lot; eaten in many places both at home and abroad and can count on one hand the number of times we have had to complain. In these few instances the relevant situation has been resolved amicably and we would return to these establishments. Unhappily, on this occasion it did not happen. Poor service followed by total disregard of facts cannot an unhappy accident, nor even incompetence. Perhaps I am being cynical but it would be difficult not to suspect that this could be an instance of an establishment that does not survive on a loyal customer base, but simply relies on the circumstance of people passing through who are on a one time only visit to Brussels and who will never return. One aspect of attention to service was observed and deserves comment: our wine was topped up on several occasions without the need to ask.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Revisiting Les Crustaces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had previously written a review of Les Crustaces that criticized them for their off-season service, I Revisited them in July during the high season and was very pleased with the food and the service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Eating al fresco in Brussels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The armosphere in this restuarant was very relaxed.The location superb. Initially we thought the staff were disinterested, however, this was far from the case and they knew exactly whar they were doing and the food was excellent. The price for the 3 course special was vey reasonable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Excellent value in the Fish Market area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We ducked in here as it was pouring with rain and it was very close to our hotel, having spotted a 23 euro dinner menu. It was busy but service was attentive enough and the food, though not outstanding, was very nice. The menu comes with different language versions and the english translation is a bit quaint but at least you know what you are getting.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Crustaces also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Les Crustaces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Crustaces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.