We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cercueil

Le Cercueil
Haringstraat 12, Brussels 1000, Belgium
025123077
Improve this listing
Ranked #643 of 2,309 restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Bar
Restaurant details
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Went here on the recommendation of a friend, liked it so much iv since been back about 3 or 4 times, and i don't even live in Belgium, its a cool, dark bar with skeletons in the tables, friendly barmen and we got to know some of the regular customers, they put on the music we asked for provided it wasn't justin beiber :P and we got free shots, one of the regular customers drew amazing cartoons and drew one for my friend and I and a few weeks later we met him drinking in Delerium and he recognised us, we always felt welcomed here and we've had some amazing times, god i'd love to be back there now drinking BarBar (honey beer ) thanks for the amazing times guys will definatly be back soon :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    18
    24
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very gimmicky”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

It is what it is, coffee tables with skeletons in and drinking from a skull mug. Once we had finished our overpriced drinks, the gimmick had worn off and we went somewhere else. It seems like everyone else in there was doing the same so the atmosphere was awkward. They didn't play metal music either, which I thought they claimed to but maybe I was wrong. This is a good idea they have going here, but they need to do a little more with it or all they are ever going to get is awkward tourists who leave after one drink. The bar staff could be more welcoming (a guy and girl were working and both just looked bored), put on some music people can get into and lower the drink prices! I'm glad we went but don't get your hopes up or plan your whole night to be in there.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Rip off ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

€8 for a pint! Yeah the atmosphere is interesting but what a bloody rip off. They don't have wifi and were playing crap music as well

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Drink from a Skull!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I thought this was a different place! It is worth a visit! It is very different. The table are made from coffins and there is macabre music playing. If you have done the usually check it out! It will most likely not be your go to bar for you vacation but it is work a pint or two just to see the decor!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One Pint is enough here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

As usual I was dragged around Brussels to find a bar, not just any bar but some bar that has been overhyped towards my friends. We entered this pub which as you can guess from its name makes a point to seem like a dungeon. It was dark, smelly and not to my taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cercueil also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Le Cercueil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cercueil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.