We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Publico

Publico
Kartuizerstraat 32 | Rue des Chartreux, Brussels 1000, Belgium
(0)2 503 04 30
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 2,506 Restaurants in Brussels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Turnhout, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Extremely good food and service in very nice surrounding. Coffee was bad, but atleast it was best we've had in Brussels (that's not much).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    110
    25
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great food and service: Fun and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We made a reservation by email a week before arriving in Belgium and the prompt response to my request gave me confidence thsi was going to be a good spot. The staff was friendly and funny and the atmosphere convivial. Large portions of well prepared and tasty food made it an excellent value. The neighborhood is full of cafe's and other spots to fill your evening with good food and beer but we highly recommend you start it off at Publico.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A fabulous night out. A true hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We came based on trip advisor recommendations and the location mear our appartment. When a place is called a hidden gem you always have a little skepticism. In this case it is a true gem. The waiter was wonderful, introducing himslef as Carlo. The food was beyond our expectations try the carpaccio, cheese croquettes, beef flamande and ravioli. They were all excellent. The qine list was small but quite good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with a lovely atmoshpere and gorgeous food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a great meal in Publico last night. Called in on spec and was lucky enough to get a table - it's Saturday night in Brussels! . What a great piece of luck that was. Fast and fabulous staff who settled us in immediately with a menu and a plate of yummy bread followed swiftly by our wine which was poured with 'sante' wishes from the waiter :-). Menu is superb with something for everybody and a price range which didn't want us to miss our next mortgage payment, really unusual in the town centre. Our meal of oven baked chicked and tuna was delicious. We were so impressed we tried the dessert menu and shared the chocoloate pasta served with bourbon ice cream, beautiful. The service was great with the guys in attendance but not in your face or seeking to rush you out of the premises. The restaurant is cosy and has a great atmosphere where you can chat with other sociable diners as we did or chat amongst yourselves. You need to bring cash to pay up, no big deal, lots of cash machines around the area. Definitly a find in our book and we'll be back for more lovely food, great atmosphere and excellent staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great experience, personal and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

In a street a block from all the other bars you'll find Publico. The waiters are all doing their utmost best to make you happy. Do not expect something formal here, but enjoy the very good tapas, the great cosy place where you'll feel at home immediatly. This is one of the restaurant I visit taking friends or family, because everyone will have a great time here. They also have a choice for vegetarians.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Publico also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Publico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Publico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.