We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Brasserie

Museum Brasserie
Koningsplein 3, Brussels 1000, Belgium
0032 (0)2 508 35 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,075 of 2,506 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Belgian, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
gerpinnes
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went there today for lunch before visiting an exhibition at the Museum of Modern Arts. Nice building and nice decoration. Service is "rough". Instead of taking our coats, we were shown where to hang them ourselves.
The menu seemed OK but the food was not up to scratch. Some of our dishes were good, some not good at all. I had some mashed potatoes with so much salt it was inedible.
The wine was very good, as was the coffee.
But at a cost of E60 per person for lunch, there are many better places than this one.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    7
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Scandalous!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Worst restaurant experience ever - we have not even got to taste anything! The so-called manager is shameless and very very rude. It was supposed to be a treat for our visitors from Italy and turned out to be the most embarrassing experience - after 1.5 of waiting and drinking warm champagne (which costs 200 euro as it turned) we still have not seen any food and when we asked for some bread, the manager brought two small pieces throwing them on the table and saying "this is all we have". We visited the place quite often in the past - but we will not be returning until the management changes!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No lunch, no service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a beautiful restaurant near the Royal Palace in Brussels. Nowadays the Brasserie goes by the name of Museum Restaurant.
Behind a closed door in a small dark hallway you will find this beautifully designed restaurant.
When I asked if I could have lunch, the answer was positive and I was accompanied to a small table. There I was handed the (standard) menu card. I ordered hand cut salmon with tomato, which was replied with "you only want a starter?!". Any existing service then turned in to a joke.
After a while an amuse was served. Waitress: "this is made of a mousse of tuna with...". Waiter: "just tuna with red pepper!". No words were spoken since then, wine was served with the waiters back towards me.
Bread and butter was very good, the Pinot Gris Blanc was delicious.
When I finished the bit flavourless salmon, my plate was removed and the menu card was smashed back in front of me. I paid and took off, a bit confused.
Expect to pay 6 euros for a supplementary bottle of flat water.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unpleasant service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is beautifully decorated and it is well situated within a walking distance from the Central Station and the Grand Place. The food was beautifully presented, too. Yes, it's the museum restaurant after all.

Still we did not like the foods so much. We had veal tartare, salmon tartare, pork chop, Cabillaude, lemon tarte and strawberry parfait. They were not too bad, but considering their prices, we recommend other travelers going to other restaurants.

And the service was unpleasant. There 2 staff. The female staff was good, but our table mostly got the male staff and he seemed to be very unhappy that night. He gave us a worst table in the first place and when we asked for a better one, he merely said ok and did not look for one for us. His attitude had not changed through the dinner and he even did not say a thank you or good bye when we left the table.

We heard this restaurant was once very good and we hope it will get better, but in the meanwhile, we do not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food was tasteless...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Food was terrible, from starter, main course and even dessert. Was served coffee but asked for tea, was refused to be served.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Museum Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.