We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Price in Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Les Ecrins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Les Ecrins to your Saves list
The Residence Les Ecrins
Rue du Rouleau 15 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Hurst, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Value Price in Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at Les Ecrins on two different (not consecutive) nights in August 2012. The first night I was in town with friends to see the Flower Carpet. My husband and I had room 123, which included a little sitting area. Our friends were a flight up in 125 and a room on the front. These rooms were smaller than 123, but the same price. On our return trip, we were put in room 125.

The positives: It was a nice walk from the hotel to the Palais Royal. We passed many restaurants, and ended up eating at one recommended by the owner on the first night. The Saint Catherine metro station is only about a half of block away. The breakfast was very nice, and the owner was easy to deal with. The hotel also accepted credit cards, which many other B&B's do not. The rooms were clean, and the bedding comfortable. The hotel was a great value at 90 Euro per night.

The negatives: We were there in August, when it can get very warm. I knew the hotel was not air conditioned, but I was very surprised the rooms did not have portable fans. It got so hot, we were forced to leave the windows opened all night. This meant having to listen to a neighbor's party until after mid-night. (Thank goodness another neighbor finally yelled at the party and got them to be quiet). Our friends in the room on the front were especially uncomfortable. With the windows opened, the street lights sign shone into their room. The noise from passing cars and then from a street sweeper kept them awake many hours. The wife said she only got about 3 hours of sleep, even though she put in ear plugs and wore a sleep mask. All the other B&B's we stayed at during our 3 week trip to Europe had rotating, portable fans and we were able to be comfortable even in the warm weather. Other negatives: Room 123 only had a bath, no shower. Room 125 had a partial shower door, and it was hard to keep the water in while showering. Like most other B&B's, there is no lift, so be prepared to carry your luggage up several flights of stairs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    99
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
40
106
36
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a small, no frills hotel in Brussels, but reasonably priced and its location is truly superb. The rooms are simple with modern, funky, functional furniture. Try their apartments (with no breakfast) - they are roomy, fully furnished, ideal for longer stays. The owner is very friendly, funny and helpful - makes your stay truly pleasurable.

Room Tip: Make sure you close doors - the staircase can be noisy. The street is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We arrived very early because of our flight, but Eduard showed us to a room right away, even nicer than the one we had booked. He also gave us breakfast, which we were very grateful for and he was not obliged to do. The room (actually a "living" room with a fold-out sofa and a bedroom) was very comfortable, spacious and clean. The hotel is well located.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I paid 110 euros on August 7 for a triple room which looks nothing like what I saw on the webpage. I took photos for the falling ceiling, broken tiles,broken handle, broken flush, and tap . You will understand why we were locked in the bathroom and could not open the door. The only garbage bin was in the bathroom, and I used a plastic bag for waste in the bedroom. There were 2 glasses at the bathroom sink for our triple room, but not even another glass in the room. With a basic room like such, I would pay nothing more than 50 euros. Sainte-Katherine is an area super convenient but not as noisy as Grand Place. With so much I have paid this time, I can easily get another hotel in this area for my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecrins, Propriétaire at The Residence Les Ecrins, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We are sorry for this incident. The room as already been fully renovated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

There are a number of positive points about this hostel; the only negative point was that there was no lift (which didn't matter to my partner and I! Just as a warning)
However, I really do have nothing but positive things to say about this hostel.
1. It is brilliant value for money (we paid 30 EUR pp in July)
2. The location is top notch: just off Place St Catherine, so about 5 minutes from Grand Place and all the sights, plus you're round the corner from Place du Beguinage with a beautiful church. There are some really nice seafood restaurants at St Catherines as well, so you're spoilt for choice with food!
3. The rooms are very clean, and are cleaned regularly. We stayed in one of the simple rooms, so just had a bed, sink, television, and bin. There are plug sockets which you can use for adaptors if necessary. Although I agree with ksd8y that the rooms are a bit on the small side, it was not something which put my partner and I off our room.
4. The owners were really helpful, polite, and easy to talk to. I spoke French to the female owner, but the man spoke English to us (though I have a feeling he might speak Dutch from his accent....) But they were both really nice.

I heartily recommend staying at this hostel, and would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I discovered this hotel when trying to find a place priced below my government per diem. I have stayed here twice now and had a good experience both times. It is really a bargain for this location, with breakfast included too! The rooms are a bit on the small side, and some are laid out a bit strangely (for example, room door opening directly into the bathroom) but to me it wasn't a big deal. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and clean, and there was a TV and hairdryer. The staff also provided me with an iron upon request, which can be a rarity in a European hotel! The location right near St. Catherine's (less than 5 minute walk to the metro stop, and about a 10 minute walk to the Grand Place) is great.

I found the staff to be very nice and helpful.

The breakfast was a standard continental fare - coffee or juice with a selection of breads and spreads, and some fruit available.

Overall a great place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Two main advantages of this hotel - a great location and very friendly owner. That actually means you will see the whole city according to his recommendations even if you don't have a tour or a book guide. Beautiful surroundings, you feel like you live in the heart of Europe. The rooms are very clean. We lived in a basic room with bathroom, it is small but quite comfortable though the sink can cause some inconvenience due to its position. Breakfast is nice. Overall, it gives you the sence of your own - even if short-term - home in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Les Ecrins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Les Ecrins

Address: Rue du Rouleau 15 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brussels
#21 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#22 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Les Ecrins is situated in a quiet street in the heart of Brussels at Place St. Catherine - the old Fish Market of Brussels, 6 minutes walking distance from the famous Grand Place, 15 minutes from E.C.Headquarters.It is nearby the St Catherine subway station and 20 minutes away from the national airport Zaventem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your The Residence Les Ecrins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Les Ecrins Hotel Brussels
Residence Les Ecrins Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Les Ecrins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.