We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful new room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marivaux Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marivaux Hotel to your Saves list
Marivaux Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Adolphe Maxlaan, 98, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersBronze level
Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful new room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

Beautiful new room. After reading some negative reviews we were really surprised to find a brand new room with: flatscreen tv, bath, shower with rainshower, airconditioning, minibar, bathrobe etc. Even a scale! It looked like they opened a new wing at the hotel.
Breakfast was served until 11 but when we got there at 10 there were only some croissants and yoghurt left. There were no glasses or coffeecups. There was one girl working in the breakfast area but she was in no hurry at all to restock the buffet.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    377
    106
    30
    19
See reviews for
114
410
55
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Vendome for 5 nights and we reserved a room directly with the hotel(bed and breakfast was included in the price, which was very reasonable). The continental breakfast was superb and was a perfect start to the day.

The hotel staff were very friendly and the room itself was cosy, with underfloor heating. Perfect for this time of year.

The hotel is very central, near Rogier metro and 5/10 mins walk to Grand Place and other attractions.

Belgium - lovely tavernas, great choice of restaurants and there is the irresistable smell of warm waffles from street stalls.

We also took day trips by train from Central Station to Bruges and Antwerp, both cities are beautiful and we are very much looking forward to our next trip back!!!

S&S, Scotland, UK

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2006

Spent two nights as part of a brilliantly priced package.

Our room was on the 5th (attic) floor in the building accessed by lift 1. This lift was slightly scary as it had no internal doors and if you didn't exit quickly at your floor, and someone else had pushed the button, you found yourself whizzing back down again - we got better with practice!

Our room was very small and you couldn't open the bathroom door properly because it banged against one of the twin beds. The bathroom was tired but clean. The room was also very clean. It would have benefited from bedside cabinets as there would just have been enough room to squeeze two in.

The breakfasts were excellent and the staff very helpful.

The location was very good - near the tram stop and the shops leading down to the Grand Place.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2005

just got back from a fabulous weekend in brussels,we stayed at this hotel and apart from the stuffy hot bedrooms it was ok,very central just a few mins from grand place and loads of restuarants.If your looking for a cheap hotel minutes from central brussels this is perfect, There are a few s-- shops and we probably wouldnt use it with the kids, but for sleeping in its fine.Breakfast was good with a great selection.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2005

We stayed for one night at this hotel, the location was excellent being close to shopping areas and restaurants. The room allocated to us was big and spacious with air-conditioning and it was clean. Best of all, they served a fantastic breakfast with a wide range of choices like pastries, eggs (boiled and scrambled!), bread, ham, cheese, bacon, sausages etc. I paid EUR50 for the room, a value for money hotel for sure!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

I was there with my wife on vacation for four nights and we found the hotel confortable to just go to sleep. The rooms did not have air conditioners but with the windows open it was okay to sleep. We had a room in the back and we did not hear too much noise. The bathrooms were clean with plenty hot water. The people were friendly and helpful specially helping us with the parking spot in front of the hotel. Breakfast was great with plenty choices of juice, eggs, bread, cereal, fruit and much more. I will consider using this hotel if I was traveling without my kids, otherwise it is ok for an unexpensive hotel stay.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2005

The thing I remember most about this hotel was how warm it was inside. Our room was booked as part of a package. The hotel is actually three buildings joined together and being very old we weren't surprised at the odd shaped rooms and winding hallways, creaky floors, narrow stairs and tiny elevator. Our room was very tiny, just large enough for the bed, a small desk and a wardrobe which contained a small refrigerator and a safe on one side and room for hanging clothes on the other. The size of the room was ok since we were only there to sleep. And it's a good thing we didn't stay long in the room because the floor of the room radiated heat despite the closed radiators. We kept our window open all the time (temps in the 70's F) which kept the room tolerable. The hallway was very stuffy and warm. The bathroom was clean but quite small. The ceiling above the tub/shower was low, which would be a problem for anyone above 5'10". The staff were friendly, although two front desk clerks were in training at the time. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and consisted of fruit, cereal, eggs, sausage, breads, juice, etc. The best part was that the dining room was airconditioned (whew!).

The hotel is centrally located, within a short distance to the key tourist and shopping areas. For us this made up for the sauna-like room.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marivaux_Manager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear Sir, Madam,
It is unfortunate that you had a unpleasant stay in the Vendome Hotel. The 4 star Marivaux Hotel is not linked to your review in any way.
Best Regards,
Team Marivaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marivaux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marivaux Hotel

Address: Boulevard Adolphe Maxlaan, 98, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Brussels
#9 Family Hotel in Brussels
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#23 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marivaux Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marivaux, a former cinema tastefully renovated into a 4 star hotel, has 96 high standard bedrooms as well as 9 meeting rooms. The Marivaux Hotel is located just minutes away from the historic centre, the Grand Place, the shopping streets and the Business centre. The European District can be easily reached by Metro. All of the rooms are stylishly and elegantly decorated. They are also equipped with a range of facilities (free WiFi, free coffee and tea facilities, satellite TV, mini bar, safe,...) in order to respond to the guests’ different needs and demands. The Brasserie Meat Me, alludes to the cinematic and artistic past of the Marivaux and serves international fusion cuisine that remains affordable to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marivaux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marivaux Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marivaux Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.