We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marivaux Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marivaux Hotel to your Saves list
Marivaux Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Adolphe Maxlaan, 98, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zagreb
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very good hotel,
Excellent location,
Nice rooms,
helpful stuff,
good breakfast

Small issue with hot water and heating in the room,
but was solved very fast. Some parts needs redecoration, like the view from the window on internal side...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Kresimir_80,

We are glad that staying at the Marivaux proved to be a good choice for you!
Redecoration is always on the books and maybe you’ll already see some changes when you next visit…
All the best and kind regards

Megan Manin, sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    455
    127
    35
    20
See reviews for
134
496
60
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. My room was HUGE but I did pay quite a bit for it. The hotel was clean and the front desk staff were very helpful. The breakfast was not much to be excited about but really that is a small complaint. Location was perfect.....I walked to everything I wanted to see.

I would stay here again without hesitation. This place was a real treat.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Pyow,

Thank you for your fantastic review! It is great to read you enjoyed your stay in one of the Marivaux’ huge harmony rooms and that you got to walk around Brussels. It is a lovely place indeed.
Looking forward to when you next visit.
Kind regards

Megan Manin, sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minorca, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

4 night stay, spent first night in 3532, very small and depressing, 2 people couldn't fit in bathroom together as too small, it was very cold in Brussels -3, and in the room too so decided to change hotels, but they insisted I see another room which was indeed much better, twice the size, both room and bathroom, only a shower in first room no bath. Beds great in both rooms. In first room, no mirror in room, no net curtain on window, furniture old and dismal. Cold in 2nd room too, but there was an additional heater there which we used. Love the separate loo and bathroom, tea and coffee facilities. breakfast ok but prefer Melia hotels. Reception staff excellent. Less than 5 mins from centre, didn't notice it was a seedy area so that obviously didn't bother us. Slept really well in both rooms, nice and quiet, interior rooms both, prefer that to noiser street rooms. Well the first room had air con noise but as it's continuous that didn't bother us.
Great steak at the Brussels grill.
When we decided to change hotels we were going to NH Atlanta, we were shown a lovely room
by a charming receptionist, so perhaps go there next time, restaurant on top floor with great view of city.

Room Tip: Interior rooms nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Anniebe R,

I would like to thank you for your review and have passed on both your positive and less positive comments to my colleagues.
In this type of event, it is our standard procedure to try and offer an upgrade to a Harmony room and I am happy that you ended up staying at the Marivaux and enjoyed everything about your 2nd room!
If and when you decide to visit Brussels again, we will be happy to welcome you again.
Kind regards

Lien Schoutteten, sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

As a few have mentioned the location is very seedy. There a three sex shops/cinemas directly opposite and another two a few doors down. It is about a 10 minute walk to the grand place.

When we arrived at 3pm we were directed to a room which was smoking (I requested non smoking) the room really smelt and was very dated inside. I then asked for another room. They gave us one of the newly renovated rooms, however no word of a lie it was a box room. You could just about stand either side of the bed. And if you take one step away from the bathroom you're in the bathroom. The room was just about big enough for one person. Not two. I couldn't be bothered to change rooms again as it was getting late.
The room also had no safe even though it stated there should have been, we were on the 5th floor and the wifi didn't work that high. So if wifi plays a big part of your trip then ask for a room on a lower floor.
The staff here though were very good and attentive. Nothing was too much hassle for them.


If I was asked if I would stay here again? I'd probably decline due to the location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Abbie1987,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Marivaux Hotel.
The hotel is situated on the spacious Boulevard Adolphe Max. There are both the Waterstone’s bookshop and the pedestrian Rue Neuve shopping street directly opposite the Marivaux.
I am sorry for the inconvenience with both rooms you had but I am glad to read that my colleagues were as helpful as they could be.
If you were to choose the Marivaux again, we would be very happy to have you in one of our bigger non-smoking rooms!
Kind regards,

Lien Schoutteten, sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Good:
* Comfortable bed
* Spacious bathroom, high-pressure shower
* Quiet - the second door between your room's foyer and sleeping area cuts down on hallway noise
* Friendly, diligent, and unobtrusive housecleaning staff
* Friendly and helpful front desk staff
* Free, fast wifi

Needs improvement:
* Not really anything that the hotel can do about it, but the neighbourhood is a bit seedy, opposite some sex shops and an erotic movie theatre, and around the corner from street prostitution. That said, I never felt personally endangered, and to some extent the extra "eyes on the street" may be helpful in promoting safety.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Golda135,

Thank you for your very clear review!
I am glad to read all your positive comments and take it you enjoyed your stay both at the Marivaux Hotel and in Brussels.
Your kind words with regards to the Marivaux’ staff are very much appreciated.
Looking forward to welcoming you next time.
Kind regards,

Megan Manin, sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra, Regno Unito
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Marivaux is pretty nice, seems to me a business hotel but it suits very well also for a weekend in the city. All the staff was extremely kind and helpful. The room was big and very clean: Iron, Wide lcd tv and brand new forniture should be very appreciate for whom stays here for business reason; we had a big bathroom with both, shower and bath (nice for leisure reason). The breakfast offer was very rich with a wide range of products. Good position, close to the city-centre and some other very nice spots in the city. 4 stars absolutely well deserved. Very good value for money.

This is not a real complain but a suggestion: it would be nice to have the restaurant open alson on Sundays.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear wsep,

Thank you for your review and for staying at the Marivaux last year. I am happy to read you enjoyed your room, the breakfast and the location of the hotel: 3 important factors for both business & leisure travellers indeed!
We will definitely look into opening the restaurant on Sundays but please know that there is always room service available outside of the Brasserie Meat Me’s opening hours.
We look forward to your next visit in Brussels.
Kind regards,

Megan Manin, sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is my favourite hotel in Brussels. Used to be a cinema decades ago, and the style in public areas follows cinema palaces of the 1930ies. Speedy replies from reservations, smooth check-in, I usually get the same room. The room itself is comfortable, the bed large. Bathing gown provided. Never tried their restaurant so far, but given the menu, it might be value for money, too. The new breakfast room is alright although I better liked the one with street view. Breakfast buffet excellent. If only they could turn off the music during breakfast.

Room Tip: be sure to reserve a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Lykos1,

Not only is it great to hear that the Marivaux is your favourite hotel in Brussels but it’s also nice that, being a regular guest, you write a review and compliment our staff; thank you!

We look forward to hearing from you when you try out the Brasserie Meat Me :)

Kind regards,

Megan Manin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marivaux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marivaux Hotel

Address: Boulevard Adolphe Maxlaan, 98, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Brussels
#8 Green Hotel in Brussels
#15 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#24 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marivaux Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marivaux, a former cinema tastefully renovated into a 4 star hotel, has 96 high standard bedrooms as well as 9 meeting rooms. The Marivaux Hotel is located just minutes away from the historic centre, the Grand Place, the shopping streets and the Business centre. The European District can be easily reached by Metro. All of the rooms are stylishly and elegantly decorated. They are also equipped with a range of facilities (free WiFi, free coffee and tea facilities, satellite TV, mini bar, safe,...) in order to respond to the guests’ different needs and demands. The Brasserie Meat Me, alludes to the cinematic and artistic past of the Marivaux and serves international fusion cuisine that remains affordable to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marivaux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marivaux Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marivaux Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.