We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Noordzee Mer du Nord

Noordzee Mer du Nord
45, Rue Sainte-Catherine, Brussels 1000, Belgium
02 513 11 92
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 2,485 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Late Night
New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good seafood for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We wanted to beat the crowds and ended up being the first people there. (I'm sure we got some curious glances for eating seafood at 11am.) The fish soup is amazing and comes with a plate of cheese and small rounds of bread topped with something that tasted like mustardy cheese. The croquettes weren't my favorite—too salty—and expensive when you consider it's 7 euros for 2 croquettes. But the razor clams were the best deal. It was 6 euros for about 10 good sized clams. It wasn't the best seafood I've ever had but I liked the smaller portions because it meant you could sample a lot of different dishes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    312
    48
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good way to feel like a local!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I went here with my partner on a Sunday afteroon and had no trouble getting service or a table (mind you it was quite cold.) The staff were friendly and service was fast. I got the fish soup which came with a piece of bread (with sauce and cheese), a glass of wine and my partner got the croquettes and all up it was 14euro, which I thought was good value.

It is a fun way to experience Brussels how I imagine the locals would do, we walked past on Friday lunch time and it was bustling with business men and women. Well worth checking out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Oysters in the street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great place to mix with locals and down half a dozen oysters whilst standing in the street.
It's about a 15 minute walk from the Grand Place and down a few shabby streets however it's worth it - great fun and a great atmosphere with locals and tourists. The staff screaming names from behind the counter add to the fun - especially when people give 'comedy' names :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afula, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stand your ground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

After reading reviews I decided to try it out. With temperatures hovering around 1-2 degrees Celsius, and a biting wind, the idea of standing outside and eating probably doesn't sound a brilliant idea, but you would be mistaken. I tried the fish soup which was extremely tasty and warming, and my partner took the Escargot, cooked in an extremely hot broth. We followed these with Shrimp Croquettes.These are more than "winter warmers", we came away with a rosy glow on our cheeks and totally forgot about the biting wind...though that was probably helped by a few glasses of really good white wine. Should not be missed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty fish meal, standing up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was the first place we visited after arriving in Brussels. We were very hungry and this place did not disappoint. We were surprised to learn that it wasn't a traditional restaurant layout: it's more of a counter, under covers, outside what looks like a fish shop. But, no matter, because we easily got a position at the counter and ordered fish soup and croquettes. They arrived in no time and were very tasty. The reviews of Trip advisor were very helpful in this regard and I would echo the recommendation to try this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noordzee Mer du Nord also viewed

 

Been to Noordzee Mer du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noordzee Mer du Nord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.