We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location near Brussels South Train Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Brussels

Save Saved
You added Sweet Brussels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sweet Brussels
Avenue Stalingrad 78 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 182 Brussels B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Location near Brussels South Train Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed three nights. Sweet Brussels is located rather near the train station, probably 10 min walk and is rather easy to find. The surrounding area is not very touristy but I would deem it safe. The room that we stayed in was spacious (very spacious in fact) and very clean and homely. Sophie is a wonderful hostess and she is happy to share the best places for chocolates and where to visit the sights. Breakfast was delicious and the best part is, there is a coffee machine that is free of charge all day. In the afternoon whenever we went back to recharge, it felt great to get a drink from the coffee machine. A great B&B in Brussels!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    25
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
60
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed three nights in July with my wife. This B&B was in a great location (5-10 min stroll to the center of the city or the nearest metro and 5-10 min walk to the train station). If you are looking for a good jumping off point for day trips to Bruges or Ghent then this is the spot. The area surrounding the B&B was not in the touristy section but it was very safe. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. There was a wonderful breakfast made to order every morning and a great coffee machine that was free of charge all day long! I doubt you could find a better B&B in Brussels!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Hey everyone. Could not recommend this to you. I'm from Britain and this was my first adventure to Brussels. They made me feel welcome from the off. I received maps, guidance and answered all my questions. She went through the best places for chocolates and it was only about a 10 minute walk max from the main Grande Place. I wasn't disturbed or bugged with my stay and she was there to answer questions and also at breakfast with a massive range of delights. The rooms are absolutely massive and a massive TV, bath, bed. It's worth every penny! You are near the railway line however with the window glazing you cannot hear the trains pass so don't be worried by this. It's 5 minutes away from the North station so if you come off the Eurostar it's literally by it! Great location. Please support this B&B as I've fell in love with it and everything it offers.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood,Fl
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sweet Brussels B&B is a beautifully restored townhouse with a wonderful hostess, Sophie. My wife and I, and our adult son stayed in 2 rooms for 5 nights. The B&B is in easy walking distance of Brussels South Train station. Maybe not the most attractive part of town but not threatening or uncomfortable and an easy walk to the center of the old town. The house itself was very comfortable. Spacious rooms, great beds, good breakfast, heat worked well, as did the wifi.
There is no lift, so keep that in mind when you book. My wife and I stayed in the first bedroom, one flight up. Our son stayed in a 2 story duplex 3 flights up. . Sophie spoke perfect English and was very helpful as we planned our days. The south train station, Brussels Midi or Zuid, has frequent trains to Bruges , Ghent, etc. so a good place to make day trips from. All in all a great choice for Brussels ( which we think is an underrated city). When we left for the airport, Sophie arranged for a taxi to pick us up at a prearranged price, very smooth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A wonderful and pleasant stay! The place is also not too far from Grand Place. Stayed here for a total of 12 days, and we never regretted it! Even the breakfast spread was wonderful. Even my 3-year-old is feeling good just in the room. Thanks again for the great stay!

Room Tip: It is common in Europe to climb flight of stairs(They do not have lifts usually anyway). The smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and had a really nice time. The rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated. Bathroom looks very good. Most of all, the breakfast is superb! We especially liked the personal character of such a small B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I chose this because of trip advisor's reviews and was not disappointed! Sofie and Stephen (hope I spelled his name right) were more than helpful. Our computer broke 4 days into our trip and we were lost without it as we had skyped our family back in Canada...Sophie not only directed us to a company that fixed it within 2 hours but loaned us hers and helped with the language translation...This young, well educated couple went out of their way to help us with restaurants, maps, and even tape for a broken suitcase on the last day.
Their B &B is spacious, clean, very close (we walked with 2 heavy suitcases) and quiet...yes moroccan men sit all day in cafe/bars outside but the area is very safe...very close to the old quarter and the beautiful hotel de ville...we loved the room with the balcony..it is a treasure...We will return if we decide to visit Brussels again. we fell in love with their coffee and want to buy the jura machine!

Room Tip: we loved room 3 with the balcony overlooking the street! quiet and airy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweet Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Brussels

Address: Avenue Stalingrad 78 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th-century townhouse located in the heart of Brussels providing stylish accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Located on a leafy large avenue, Sweet Brussels is situated between The Grand Place and Brussels South Station (Eurostar, Thallys) surrounded by various restaurants and in close proximity to theaters, cinemas, the "Sablon" Antiques area, the "Dansaert" Fashion district and the European Institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sweet Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Brussels Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.