We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Brussels

Save Saved
You added Sweet Brussels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sweet Brussels
Avenue Stalingrad 78 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 183 Brussels B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great little B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and had a really nice time. The rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated. Bathroom looks very good. Most of all, the breakfast is superb! We especially liked the personal character of such a small B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    25
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
60
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I chose this because of trip advisor's reviews and was not disappointed! Sofie and Stephen (hope I spelled his name right) were more than helpful. Our computer broke 4 days into our trip and we were lost without it as we had skyped our family back in Canada...Sophie not only directed us to a company that fixed it within 2 hours but loaned us hers and helped with the language translation...This young, well educated couple went out of their way to help us with restaurants, maps, and even tape for a broken suitcase on the last day.
Their B &B is spacious, clean, very close (we walked with 2 heavy suitcases) and quiet...yes moroccan men sit all day in cafe/bars outside but the area is very safe...very close to the old quarter and the beautiful hotel de ville...we loved the room with the balcony..it is a treasure...We will return if we decide to visit Brussels again. we fell in love with their coffee and want to buy the jura machine!

Room Tip: we loved room 3 with the balcony overlooking the street! quiet and airy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in October. Room 5 was perfect for us. Only complaints were that its on the very top floor (5 flights up or so?) and the grate on the catwalk really hurts your bare feet! Some sort of area rug or runner would be great there. Otherwise, we were very please with our stay!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in room 5 for 2 nights, beautiful room, extremely spacious and nicely decorated. Sofie was a great host and let us store our bags on the last day for a few hours after we had checked out which we were extremely grateful for, she also trusted us with the key to get the bags later in the day, so yes, a fantastic host couldn't have asked for more! In addition to this, the breakfast included was lovely, a great mix of pastries, fruit and natural yoghurt (which suited me) and continental meats, cheeses, breads and freshly cooked eggs (which suited my partner) as well and tea's, coffee's and freshly squeezed orange juice. Fab! Only criticism is the area, late at night I found it intimidating, not so much during the day. I wouldn't let it put me off staying there again however as long as I wasn't on my own, it doesn't affect the rating I give the hotel but worth mentioning.

Tip - The hotel is closer to Brussels Zuid (South)/Brussels midi train station, however we took the slightly (maybe 5 minutes) longer walk from Brussels central as the station was a lot more friendly and the walk to the hotel felt much safer and more well lit. We walked for Brussels Zuid once and found the station itself to feel very intimidating, gangs hanging around outside as well as having to walk in pitch black part of the way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here, room #3, for 2 nights. What a delightful room. We had a great view of the boulevard not only from the large windows but a small balcony. The area is very close to the train station and perfectly safe. The B&B is in a large Moroccan community where the men sit outside at coffee houses during the day and evening. They do not consume alcohol so there are not bars or nightclubs in the area. Sofie and Steven are perfect hosts who serve up a good breakfast. Coffee and tea are available all the time. Moeder Lambic, a short walk away, was a great recommendation for some delicious Belgium beers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just back from a week in the duplex apt - excellent. The area did not worry us at all like some other reviewers - its so central. Nearby Place Rouppe has nice bars and great restaurants to suit all purses. The owner Sofie is a really lovely person. The apt is at the top of the house and is very spacious and bright - it was very warm weather during our stay but a fan is provided. The kitchen has everything you need for self catering but you can opt for a breakfast served in a nice room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A stay in this rather grand turn-of-the-century home gives you an insider's view of the Brussels townhouses that line so many of the city's streets. The rooms - spotless - are large and warmly minimalist, and the beds are very comfortable. Sophie and Steve are down-to-earth and knowledgeable. There are books about Brussels, architecture and design around the house. Although the house is on a busy and animated street and backs onto the train lines, the windows are modern and double-glazed, so we didn't hear a thing once they were closed. Note there are lots of stairs to climb, so not for the faint of heart or leg. Don't miss the Moroccan patisserie a few houses down! Easy walk to the Grand' Place, Sablon, Marolles, Opéra, etc. We will always stay here in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweet Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Brussels

Address: Avenue Stalingrad 78 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th-century townhouse located in the heart of Brussels providing stylish accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Located on a leafy large avenue, Sweet Brussels is situated between The Grand Place and Brussels South Station (Eurostar, Thallys) surrounded by various restaurants and in close proximity to theaters, cinemas, the "Sablon" Antiques area, the "Dansaert" Fashion district and the European Institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sweet Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Brussels Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.