We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food - reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 9 et Voisins

9 et Voisins
Rue Van Artevelde 1, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 2,569 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Heures d'ouverture, LUNDI MARDI MERCREDI JEUDI de 16h a 00h VENDREDI SAMEDI DIMANCHE de 12h a 01h BON APPETIT!!!!!!!!
England
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“excellent food - reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We found the restaurant whilst walking round the corner from the Marriott hotel.
It is very busy and you need to get there early or be prepared to wait.

We ate there twice and found the food very good. Service is quick but it depends how many customers are in the restaurant. We got our order in before a party of Chinese tourists turned up and it was quickly served. People ordering after that had to wait longer - as you would expect.
2 main courses with half a litter of wine and 2 beers came to € 50, which is not bad for brussels.
Later in the evening the place is packed inside and out, it is noisy and you wait a little longer, but the quality of the food id worn the wait.
tables are close together but that is part of the charm of the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    200
    22
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Your best bed late at night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

9 et Voisins is one of the only places to have its kitchen open late very night, a big plus in Brussels. The food is always well made, mostly Belgian fair, but with some international dishes (Ribs, tandoori chicket etc)
The plates are absolutely packed with food, be warned. A stoemp could most likely feed a small family.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We ate here on a Saturday night in Brussels, taking the last available table at around 8pm. It has a great atmosphere with tables placed quite close together - though we didn't feel on top of the other tables around us. We went for the Ribs which were served with salad and potato slices and the Chilli, which I found to be excellent. The home made pitta bread that it was served with was divine. This was finished with the chocolate mousse, also excellent. Prices are very reasonable with dishes ranging between €10 and €25, desserts were around €5. For a busy Saturday night the service was good, the waitresses were rushed off their feet but still had time to run through the beer menu and make recommendations to my partner. A definite recommendation if you're visiting Brussels.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesea, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very nice local food in a central location dishes cost around 14-18 euros great service be prepared to wait at the bar until table is ready

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not for the discerning Gastronome - laid-back down-town eaterie.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My colleague and I ate at ‘9 et Voisins’ on Monday night – and were sadly underwhelmed. The food was decidedly average, the dining area spartan and the service variable. We both chose Cote de Veau (18€50) which is served with pasta and ratatouille. Bizarrely my Cote was approx half the size of my partners; the pasta was barley warm and I found a shard of tin in my ratatouille as if to prove that it had come straight from the catering tin. We chose a bottle of Cote de Rhone (€23) which was ‘moyen’ and for Dessert I tried the tarte tatin which was bland (5€50).
Our fellow diners at ‘9 et Voisins’ were exclusively ex-pats, not a Belgian in sight. Upon our arrival at 8 pm there had only been 4 other people in the place but the numbers increased as the evening wore on and people arrived to eat after early evening drinks; the chatter of American, English accents was evident.
Service was variable, one serveuse was chatty and friendly – the other decidedly sullen.
‘9 et Voisins’ is best described as a laid-back, fun, down-town eaterie with half-decent food - but not for the discerning Gastronome.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 9 et Voisins also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to 9 et Voisins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9 et Voisins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.