We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional Service and Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Kiss

French Kiss
Rue leopold 1er,470 | Jette, Brussels 1090 Bruxelles, Belgium
+32 2 425 22 93
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #731 of 2,486 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $31 - $75
Cuisines: Belgian, Brasserie, Gastropub, Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Professional Service and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

From the moment I booked this restaurant to the time we left, we were made to feel very welcome. Management have a good sense of humour, picked some great waiting staff and the kitchen staff definitely seem to know what they are doing.

This is a Bib Gourmand retaurant out of the Michelin guide (reasonably priced menu with good quality)

We ordered the horse filet (beautiful piece of meat) which melted in the mouth and did not even need a sauce it was so good, as well as the leg of lamb which just fell off the bone.

I was also impressed with the fact that the wine was decanted even without asking.

Only critisim would be the managment offering digestifs to some of the tables but not all... I like this practice and appreciate it, but either it should go to everybody or nobody

Change of return: 80/20 (only based on the location not being too close to where we would normally go out)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    28
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best béarnaise ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Place wasn't anywhere near full on a Friday evening, and most of the clientele were 40s & 50s, which suited me, but not perhaps for everyone. Way off the beaten track - 2 trams or a metro and a 1 mile walk. Me and Mrs Bacca do a mean béarnaise - so much so that ours is better than any in London's specialist steakhouses. But we are mere rank amateurs compared to the chef here. Fantastic! Good steak; ok tartare (it came as a duo - is steak tartare ever better than ok?); big pile of matchstick fries - and they asked did I want more!; good value mainly French winelist

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I was this week in this restaurant and I was disappointed , but maybe it was our fault .
In fact we ordered two main courses of fish and probably it's not the right restaurant , probably it's a meat restaurant . The tuna fish was cold and the other fish really not particularly good . In addition we wait almost one hour to have our main dishes which is really unacceptable . The wine was expensive ( +/- 30 €) , but really not particularly good .
So maybe we were not lucky , but we were not really happy

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent steak & fries at good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Ate here on recommendation from our B&B and it was fantastic. This place is a traditional Belgian restaurant with excellent grilled meat (4/5 of us ordered steak) and french fries. They offered us free refills of both fries and chocolate sauce that came with the dessert we ordered. The service was excellent. There were English menus available, and they gave us a waiter that spoke English well. The prices were very reasonable. We ordered their specialty dessert - dame blanche - YUM. I would definitely recommend this place - wonderful dining experience!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Kiss also viewed

 
Jette, Brussels
 

Been to French Kiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Kiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.