We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brussels classic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of a la becasse

a la becasse
rue de Tabora, 11, Brussels 1000, Belgium
025110006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #412 of 2,309 restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Brussels classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A La Becasse is an unassuming, wood-panelled Brussels pub. It does offer food, but of a rudimentary type - the kind that gets increasingly more attractive in direct proportion to the amount of beer you drink. It helps stick your ribs together. You do not come here for the food, you come for the building, its atmosphere and the excellent Timmermanns Lambic beers, served in authentic blue and white stone pitchers in different sizes. Service can be patchy, but I have never encountered anything other than courtesy, and, more often than not, good natured humour. The serving staff still wear traditional white aprons which extend up over the shoulders that make them look decidedly Bruegelesque. Relax and enjoy it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    44
    56
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overijse, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Standard service, good beer.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The service here was a little bit under-par with what we have previously experienced in other places, but was still adequate. - Not unfriendly, just not overly welcoming. The menu wasn't clear about stating that food was only on offer at certain times, so we were disappointed when we tried to order a croque monsieur, and were told that only one section of the menu was available. The quality of the beer made of for this though.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“If you only visit ONE authentic Beligan bar in Brussels - make this the ONE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

When researching Brussels on Tripadvisor i had written a big "GO HERE" for this bar and we were not dissapointed. What a little gem!
If you dont want the tredy bars with loud music and loads of loud drunk people but a place were you can sit and have a nice chat, nice beer and be served by friendly staff - this is the perfect place. Try the local Lambic beer for something different.
Can be a little bit tricky to find as it is off the street down a narrow lane but have a look at the pics i post with this review and you will know what to look for.
Cant recommend this place enough!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We went in with our tour guide and what a pub!
It's relatively small, with own lambic beers and a great place to have a chat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Traditionally served lambic near Grand Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I had pre-trip researched a little on A La Becasse but it was a low priority; however, I decided to make a stop based on the recommendation of Werner from Oud Beersel and the Lambic Discovery Center. I'm glad that I had talked to him, otherwise I might not have approached the place. The nondescript front is just a door with a sign that leads to a long, ancient hallway until it emerges into a dark wood interior lined with tightly spaced rows of tables. Very quaint place that feels local in spite of being very close to the Grand Place, though some were clearly tourists because I can hear their excessively loud Texas accent-laden conversation across the room.

I started with the sweet lambic, Lambic Doux. It's Timmerman's lambic sweetened and served in a traditional lambic jar and glass. A light amber ale that shines in the glass, it has a subtle sourness and an earthy tone. Sweetness balances the sour, almost, and makes for a very pleasant thirst quencher, as it says on the menu.

Moved on to the Lambic Blanc, or white lambic. Initially a foamy white head built up and fell on top of a slightly hazy, light yellow beer. It's listed as a white wheat beer on the menu, and explained as a unique, traditional Lambic that was imbibed on the farms of Pajottenland. It also has a subtle wheaty nose with a faint sourness and sugar. Sweetened as well, the lemon, wheat tang and spiciness push over the sweetness that lingers in the back. Very refreshing and complex; I can see how this was the "lawnmower" beer of Flanders. When talking to Werner yesterday, I had trouble understanding how this was Belgian equivalent of Saison, a beer to drink on the farm but this white lambic makes it abundantly clear.

The waiter was very friendly and helped me to order a vegetarian dish, a traditional cheese sandwich. It was a very thin bread that was spread with a heavy layer of soft white cheese. Radishes and onions on the side added contrasting flavors to the creamy cheese funk. For me, the cheese became a bit much by the end, but an interesting meal of traditional cuisine that is hoped for element of any good vacation. And, I have room left for a waffle for dessert on the Grand Place (eat plain to look like a local--add too much chocolate and whip cream for the "tourist" waffle).

In the end, the only negative of my stop was the really loud American. Otherwise, once I settled in, it felt like a real place compared to the craziness of the Delirium Cafe, a respite from the touristy nature of many bars in this area; it lived up to Werner's billing in every way. For any beer geek that's serious about tasting lambic in its traditional manner, A la Becasse is a must stop when in Brussels.

Pictures at http://pintsizedrevelations.blogspot.com/2013/01/a-la-becasse-brussels-belgium.html.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed a la becasse also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to a la becasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage a la becasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.