We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice dinner and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rouge Tomate

Rouge Tomate
Louizalaan 190, Brussels 1050 Elsene, Belgium
0032 (0) 2 647 70 44
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Rouge Tomate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #723 of 2,491 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $38 - $154
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We chose the menu and we had a wonderful dinner. High quality of ingrdients, good combination of flavors, very balanced and excellent service. Nice wines -mostly French- and just a few non French. We chose the Spanish red one ( cami del Priorat) and it was very nice that match the diversity of the menu.
Overall very good. Pricey, yet the right value.
I will come back. Appropiate for business and couples (next time I will go with my husband).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    50
    30
    30
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“surprising and fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Beautiful setting, in a classic Brussels house of early 1900, with a modern twist (colours and artwork). Remarkable tarrace view, also at night, artistically lit, which creates a very relaxed ambiance. Food here is honest and a modern take on food that I found very enjoyable. Nice choice of healthy foods also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Expensive and disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Trying very hard (too hard?) to be taken seriously as far as the cooking is concerned, but failing completely. No finesse whatsoever. The waiters, when you could get a hold of them, told you what was on your plate looking in the distance, as if they had to hurry before catching the last metro.

145 euros for an appetizer, two main dishes, a bottle of wine and two bottles of water? Pleeeeaaaaaaase.

The terrace is nice, though.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good healthy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a business meal on a quiet evening. The food was excellent. I had expected more choice for vegetarians. The available vegetarian option was delicious though. Good wine list. However, the white wines are not kept in the fridge i.e. much too warm. Service is friendly but quite slow. The weather was not warm enough for the terrace. It looked great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“overpriced, bad service, pretentious food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

First let's get the only nice thing of this place out of the way: it's a beautiful restaurant with great decor and a perfect terrace. That's where it all ends. Service is shabby to say the least, young inexperienced waiters who barely say hello and goodbye, can't speak a word of English and are both slow, disorganised and rude. I went there with two diplomats who were not from Europe and they were badly treated for not understanding the menu and possibly asking too many questions. The food is pretentious with high flying names and uninteresting stuff in your plate. Price is way over the top. Just don't go and especially on a business occasion because it can truly embarass you.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rouge Tomate also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Rouge Tomate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rouge Tomate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.