We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fanterlok

Fanterlok
Vismarkt 16, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
015.21.69.12
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 144 Restaurants in Mechelen
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Mechelen, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Highly recommended restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Excellent food. The super nice staff makes you feel welcome and comfortable. Nice atmosphere and a great menu too. Me and my girlfriend went here for my birthday. We had different starters and main dish, and we were both very satisfied. I will return to this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wemmel, België
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant @ correct price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Nice atmosphere, friendly service and a very good price/quality ratio.
Every day a nice lunch at 10,50 EUR, and on Thursdays they serve steak !!
I am a regular guest ...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I really do not get why this scores so hight on Tripadvisor. Foor was mediocre:
- Vol-au-vent consists mainly of meat balls
- Spare ribs are, again, mediocre
- appetiser soup wasn't warm
- then again, the restaurant itself was cold.

We almost never go to Mechelen, but there must be better places there...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent and charming service - and open on Mondays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Fanterlok maybe the best restaurant in Mechelen that is open on Monday evening. I found in particular the service excellent and charming.

I had a very tasty starter, a Japanese style tuna tartar, followed by a very tender Irish steak (entrecote).

Very nice, informal atmposhere.

All in all very recommendable

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“top class restaurant??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Have eaten 4 times and 4 times there was something wrong. Too small portions, wrong sauce with a steak of poor quality. Never will go back there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fanterlok also viewed

Mechelen, Antwerp Province
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
 
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Fanterlok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fanterlok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.