We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hobbit

Hotel Hobbit
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Hobbit to your Saves list
Hotel Hobbit
Battelstesteenweg 455F | Business Park E19, Mechelen, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
Hollywood, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

The Hobbit hotel in Mechelen is a great, budget friendly hotel just outside of Mechelen and very close to all highways necessary to travel throughout Belgium. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The room and bathroom were nice, pretty large and comfortable. The shower had great pressure; this is a pet peeve of mine. :) After 11pm, you need to enter the hotel through the night entrance and the front desk at that time is unmanned which is not unusual in small hotels and I have no problem with. There is a phone number you can call should you have a problem. I would recommend this hotel and will probably stay there many more times.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The thing is: if you have a really big reason to stay here then by all means ...
But it has to be a really big one otherwise it's definitely not worth it.
It's specially dirty, poorly managed, and mainly way of everything except the highway and some offices around.
All the furniture was dirty with food leftovers as well as the floor. The lady poorly presented to be at the reception gave us towels just like in a hostel.
It smelt of food from the adjacent rooms...
The curtain of the shower was also dirty
But the sound isolation was good and the wifi worked..

And the price is not a bargain if you compare to others in town.

A place to avoid, unless you know what you are getting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The location of the hotel made it easy to find, the room was a good size and the bathroom above expectation. But we asked for a twin and they prepared a double and this took much time to re-organise. The WiFi was welcomed but the staff seemed to be having their own party and this seemed to take much of their attention. Bar prices seemed to be reasonable, but the only reason we ended up in there was because our room was not ready when we arrived. Hopefully they have got their web site back up and running now.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

As far as budget hotels go I don't expect much, there are plenty to choose from and they all follow the same theme. I came across the Hobbit on a well known booking site as my normal choices of hotel were all fully booked.

The Hobbit is located in a convenient location just off the main highway between Brussels and Antwerp and was very easy to find. It is located on a small office part surrounded by office buildings and has ample dedicated parking which is a bonus and even better, its free !

The Hobbit is clean, smart and very modern with a nice restaurant area adjacent to the reception and on arrival i was made to feel welcome and was given an introduction on how the catering arrangements worked, breakfast was included and the chef would arrive soon to cook whatever I wanted from their extensive range.

My room was located on the ground floor at the end of a short corridor and on entering the room I was surprised how spacious it was and it was far better equipped than most of the competitors with a real bed, desk area and a nice flatscreen TV. The bathroom was a proper bathroom with bath and fantastic power shower, unlike some of the 'pod' types in other places.

The bed was comfortable, shower was powerful with plenty of hot water and overall the room was well above average for such a low price. The room was clean, fresh towels, complimentary toiletries and a general feeling that the hotel management take a pride in their establishment.

Breakfast was a standard buffet style with continental selection, breads and pastries and a hot dish of scambled eggs with bacon pieces which was very nice. Plenty of choice of tea, coffer or fruit juice and again the breakfast are was clean and well presented.

Evening meal was prepared by the chef and owner who also runs a local restaurant and there is no set menu, simply request what you want and if he has it he will cook it, I had a Belgian stew called Stoflees but I saw others have Salmon, Steaks and Spaghetti so I guess he has an extensive range.

Overall the quality of the food was excellent, restaurant quality in fact and I was very pleased with the quality.

Overall this is a fantastic Hotel, it punches well above its weight in value and quality of service provided and I would highly recommend it. The staff are friendly, excellent location and the overall experience was superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading,
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Stayed here 1 night on business, December 2010. Rooms are very clean and a good size, with excellent bathroom.
Breakfast was perfectly good, with a decent selection.
Bar / restaurant area is small and functional, but perfectly OK.
Handy for Mechelen Nord business area.
It is about 2 kms from the town centre, but this is an easy 25 minute walk down a straight road, or you can take the bus from right outside the hotel; it will take you into the town centre in less than 10 minutes. I will stay here again if I am back in Mechelen.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

Comfortable bed, clean room, nice hosts, nice breakfast included. Great location for industry, but about 1 km walk to downtown Mechelen.

Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Europe
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights in December 2006. Good value for a very reasonable prize, 58 euro for single use including breakfast. Good room, good bed, good bathroom, even a good breakfast. So, why not..

  • Liked — Good prize
  • Disliked — Busy area
  • Tips/Secrets — No
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hobbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hobbit

Address: Battelstesteenweg 455F | Business Park E19, Mechelen, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hobbit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hobbit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.