We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“prestigious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Manufacturers De Wit

Royal Manufacturers De Wit
Schoutetstraat 7, Mechelen, Belgium
00.32.15.20.29.05
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 attractions in Mechelen
Type: Tours, Specialty Shops
Attraction Details
flanders
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“prestigious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

this is one of those places that every Belgian should extremely be proud of (and at least have visited the website)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tapestry restoration: artisan world class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

De Wit is one of the rare restorers of medieval wall tapestries in Europe. During their tour, held once a week on Saturday morning, they will show you the techniques for cleaning and repair (and demonstrate tapestry making). The historical building, once a refuge within the city walls for monks in troublesome times, has a large number of these ancient tapestries on display, and in the top floor there's an interesting display of modern samples. It's my favourite outing in Mechelen for guests who enjoy art and history.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“very knowledgeable and friendly tour guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The insight our group got into the world of tapestries was fabulous. We had a personal tour. A very experienced lady demonstrated the use of a horizontal loom. We learned how tapestries changed over the centuries. Even more fascinating in the process used to clean, examine, and repair tapestries. They do not try to make it like new but preserve it. Our tour guide was so friendly and knowledgeable. If you go in the winter expect it to be cold in some of the rooms. This is afterall a restored 15th century refugium.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Really fascinating personal tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

There were 9 of us that came for the tour. It was well worth the effort to see these amazing tapestries. I learned so much about the art of tapestries, the care and cleaning/repair of them, and the history of this art form

I never thought I would want to own one until this tour-now I would love one. So much more appreciative!

The tour was about 1 1/2 hours. Not a museum so we were the only ones there. Very quiet. Saw a demonstration on how the loom works and how they make the tapestries. Saw many very old tapestries. Saw how they repaired them (once the workers were at lunch so we wouldn't disturbed them) etc. It is chilly in there and the floor is unforgiving but they have little easy to carry chairs you can take room to room which I highly advise.

It was so interesting and worth the time. Our guide was so knowledgeable and made it very personal. Recommended. Many stairs though so need to be able to do stairs-winding stairs since very old building. Also gets quite chilly so bring warm things (apparently can get hot in the summer)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Manufacturers De Wit also viewed

Mechelen, Antwerp Province
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
 
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Royal Manufacturers De Wit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Manufacturers De Wit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Royal Manufacturers De Wit to your Saves list