We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city centre hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Veemarkt 37 C, Mechelen 2800, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mechelen
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great city centre hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is what you expect from Holiday Inn Express. Clean and well appointed. The staff are excellent and very friendly. The breakfast, included in the price, is good. Continental breakfast with plenty of choice for any taste. The hotel is very central therefore handy for all amenities. Downside parking. Secure parking in an underground car park below the hotel but the €16 per night charge is high but there is no where else to park and many of the public car parks are more expensive. Also access to the car park from the hotel is down two flights of stairs so bad for disabled. The Ac in our rooms worked well.

Room Tip: There can be a lot of noise at the front of the hotel as it is near the bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear William1946,
Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your findings of our hotel. We are pleased te read you enjoyed your stay with us. We are especially glad to hear that the staff was excellent and very friendly. We will surely share your comments with them. Thank you again, and hope to welcome you again the next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    62
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
22
32
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel and the US
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Location is problematic to arrive by Car, in middle of restricted zones.
Parking is very expensive for guests - 16 Euro/night.
No Stairs from basement parking to hotel lobby.
Parking in basement very tight and hard to maneuver with large vehicle.
Selection of restaurant near hotel are at the city square, almost all are pricey tourist traps.
Most kitchens close at 9:30pm.
Found great restaurant at square - Den Beer, the whole family loved.

Breakfast at the hotel had very poor selection and no fresh veggies.

Rooms are clean and well kept.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear AviD42,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our room.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the parking arrangement and breakfast selection which was unacceptable. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My work finds me in Mechelen several times a year. The Holiday Inn Express is my hotel of choice for short stays in the town.Colleagues tend to make a beeline for the Novotel and that hotel's location, right in the middle of the town, is very good, but the rooms (getting shabby now) and the room rate (commonly 140 Euro per night: 2012 prices) are far too high for what you get.

A five minute walk from the Novotel, the Holiday Inn Express offers much better value for money and the rooms, whilst not fancy, are clean and comfortable and have tea & coffee making facilities. Breakfast is, for me, fine, with a wide choice of "continental" (i.e. cold) options. As others have pointed out, there is no restaurant, but there are so many within a few minutes walk this really isn't a big deal and, at nearly half the room rate of the Novotel, a small price to pay. There is a small but perfectly adequate bar. For those arriving late, there is a selection of snack type foods in a large refrigerator by reception.

Check in and check out are very efficient - important for the business traveller and I have always found the staff very helpful.

Summary - good value for the business and tourist traveller alike. It has all you really need.

Room Tip: If you don't like smoking, ensure that you book a non-smoking room in advance - it is a busy hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Blocker1,
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. It is great to read tat you like it with us and I would also like to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. I will surely share your nice comments with all staff.
Thank you again and hope to welcome you again the next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Not sure what happened, but the hotel had no hot water on the morning when we left. My daughter got a hot shower in the evening, but we had to get up early to catch a flight the next day, and had only cold water in the morning. Not a good way to start the day.
What we liked: good location; it is an easy walk from the historic old town area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Murrieta1,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to inform us abount your findings of our hotel. It is thanks to your remarks and observations we can improve our service. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience with the cold water. I can fully understand this is not a great way to start the day. I can assure you the problem was fixed very fast the same morning. Thank you again and hope to welcome you again next time you are in Mechelen so you can take a hot shower!
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
826 reviews 826 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
1,234 helpful votes 1,234 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel is located short walking distance from all the main attractions of Mechelen center city, farmers market, multiple restaurants, places of interest. You can communicate with everybody in English. The parking is available with steep short driveway up typical for many hotels in Europe. There is no restaurant available for dinner but in the morning you can have coffee and a simple but very tasty breakfast - great start of the day. There is a bar in the lobby.
Overall - it was a good experience but no frills. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear podrozniczka60,

Thank you very much for your reveiw about our hotel. I am glad to read that you had a good experience in our hotel and also in the city of Mechelen also we are pleased that we could give you a great start of the day with our tasty breakfast.
We hope te welcome you again the next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I traveled to Mechelen, Belgium for Business for a week and chose to stay at Holiday Inn Express - City Center because of it's proximity to the business center that houses many offices. The hotel was also very near to the Town Center where there are multiple restaurant / pubs around the square.

The hotel itself was a no frills no fuss hotel, providing all the basic amenities expected out of a HI Express property. The staff was very helpful and polite, and also went out of the way to help me print some urgent documents that I had to print.

There was no restaurant, or room service, but then you already know this when you are booking at Holiday Inn Express. Breakfast, which was included in the tariff was simple but good. Milk, cereal, fruit, Cold meats, breads, cakes and eggs. Good to start a nice day with healthy breakfast. Ice machine was available on the Ground Floor for icing up that drink you might have bought from a grocery store. The bar was open till late and you could catch a drink there at any time. There was also a fridge near the reception, from where you could by cold beverages and snacks and a decent price.

Check Inn and check out was very smooth and I would choose this hotel again, if I am staying in Mechelen. Overall, a Very Nice experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear GuneetSingh,

Thank you very much for your review!
It is fun to read you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that the staff was very helpful and polite, and also went out of the way to help you. We will surely share your comments with them. Again thank you for your review. And we hope to wlecome you again next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind Regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

HI Express as it says on the label.
Do not expect what you did not pay for.
Decent enough room, free wifi (a bit slow), breakfast is fine, a small bar downstairs with good selection of local beers.
Hotel is 5 minutes walk to the town square and 100's of shops.
Do not use their parking, but the public one which charges 3 euro for the night.
Mechelen is right between Antwerp and Brussels, so this is a great place to go to when Brussels in booked and Antwerp too expensive.

Room Tip: Try to avoid road facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear TheSteck,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to inform us about your stay. It is thanks to your remarks and observations that we can improve our service! We hope to welcome you again next time you travel to Antwerp so you can taste those great Belgian beers agin in our bar.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre

Address: Veemarkt 37 C, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mechelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the atmosphere of Mechelen's historic quarter at the Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre hotel. Flanked by centuries-old architecture, the inviting Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is in the heart of Mechelen. Just a short walk from the town square and with easy access to the ring road, you can park in our secure underground car park when you arrive. Connect to complimentary Internet and wake up to a complimentary continental breakfast at our daily buffet. Located halfway between both Brussels and Antwerp, Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is an ideal stopoff point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre Hotel Mechelen
Mechelen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Mechelen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.