We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly beautiful Church turned hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's Patershof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Martin's Patershof to your Saves list
Martin's Patershof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karmelietenstraat 4, Mechelen 2800, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mechelen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful Church turned hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel truly is a feast for the eye. Only 4 years ago it was renoveted from being an old church into a now beautiful 4* hotel with all the modern luxury, though keeping all the church elements (pillars, spaces, leaded windows, the altar in the breakfast hall, ...). Also, Mechelen was a real treat for shopping and the architecture in the old city centre is as beautiful as in old Antwerp, Brussels and even reminded me of Bruges from time to time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Antwerpgirl_10,

Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay in Martin's Patershof.
Thank you for sharing your experiences with our future guests.

It's true... Mechelen is a very nice city!
It's even becoming more and more beautiful.
You know there is more Unesco heritage in Mechelen than in a city like Bruges?

I suggest you to visit our website!
You will discover more Martin's Hotels in nice cities and surroundings.
For example Martin's Klooster. A brand new hotel in the city center of Leuven.

Hope you welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    160
    45
    16
    6
See reviews for
38
302
11
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I cannot recommend this hotel enough for a weekend away, or perhaps for work.
The beds are heavenly and we even had an angel watching over us as we slept (from the rose stained glass window).
Everything about this hotel is excellent. The setting in a former church is spectacular - make sure you stay in one of the rooms in the church, not in the convent next door to truly appreciate the columns, the stained glass windows....if you are lucky one with a view on the rose window and an angel watching over you as you sleep.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, the breakfast area/restaurant in the former chapel is excellent (delicious, wide assortment and very fresh) and of course it is a beautiful setting.
Service was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the church with windows on the stained glass rose window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear citizenoftheplanet,

I would like to personally thank you for sharing your positive comments on our hotel.
This kind of reviews motivates my staff to work every day very hard to share the great and nice experience of staying in Martin's Patershof with every single guest.

I will transfer your lovely words to them!

If you would like to discover the 9 other Martin's Hotels, please visit our website.
For example Martin's Brugge in the heart of one of the most beautiful cities in Europe!
Very nice hotel with an awesome Martin's Bar.

We hope to may welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

nice hotel, unique design, clean but poor service for 4* hotel. not enough personal for check-in and breakfast (the receptionist had to take care of the bar too, rooms were ready with 2h delay; only 2 waiters for over 50 guests at breakfast).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Our whole family stayed there a night to celebrate my dad 60 th birthday. All family was delighted by the fantastic looks, the cosyness and great breakfast in the church. Service was also really helpful for advice and taxi reservation. But be careful and ask for parking , cause it can be a difficult moment to find place to park in the nieghborhood. But that incident was quickly forgotten, it was a great moment.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear mapache_n,

Thank you very much for your message though TripAdvisor and sharing your experiences with our futur guests.

Nice to hear that you and your family had a great time with us.
As we have a church converted into hotel, we try to give every single guest this special feeling of experience during their stay.

We have our own underground car park for about 20 cars.
Upon arrival, just ask the reception for the acces code.
If there wouldn't be any spaces left, we show you where to park in the neighbourhood.

Hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

but we were there for only one night. The hotel is awesome, our room was awesome, and the service was awesome. It felt kind of sinful enjoying a bottle of champagne in our room as we looked out the two stained glass windows. Our room had a sitting area that was very comfortable. Make sure you walk throughout the hotel to see the different parts of the church.

Room Tip: Room 225 is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The building is what makes this hotel so amazing, a marvellous church renovation. This time we booked a cosy room in the church, which was amazing value and we ended up in a much larger room and bathroom than when we had a room with stain glass windows on our first visit. We even had a balcony overlooking their inner courtyard.
The beds are so comfy ensuring a really good night's sleep. Although breakfast is quite pricey, it is excellent with amazing choice. A really good position within the ring road with easy access to the centre of Mechelen, just 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Linda M,

Thank you very much for your message.

Correct! The building is amazing...
Starting in 2008, we've converted a church into a 4 star hotel in about 1,5 years.
According to The Huffington Post, we are now on the 5th position of most spectacular hotels in the world.

Nice to hear this is your second visit.
All our rooms are different! Not two of them are the same. It's all about taste...
The first time, you were in the church, now you've booked a room in the cloister.

Next time, book through our own website!
There you can find the best deals, breakfast included.

See you next time?

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

this was such an amazing hotel, yes we chose one of the executive rooms, so ours was huge with seperate office/lounge area.with columns and stained glass windows, the bed was very/very comfy, however being all memory foam we found it a little warm (but that could be my hot flushes)we did not have a problem with temperature, but it was mid october..the breakfast was full of choice,including smoked salmon and bucks fizz....whats not to like?????
the location was brilliant, close to everything we wanted to do, like the boat trip, the moored boats on the canal,the bell tower (558 steps) with the best view across most of belgium.the shops and restaurants,wonderful architecture, i could go on forever.
we were made so wellcome, we were sad to leave.

Room Tip: 125 was next to the lift on the first floor,airconditioning outside our room in the courtyard , but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear marion1954,

Thank you for your message through TripAdvisor.
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

If you have something to celebrate, you're right to book an Exceptional Room... or even our Best Of Home.

We receive a lot of good comments about our Breakfast buffet.
You can start with a nice glass of Cava if you like.
We even try to change some details every day, so people have the opportunity to try something else if they book a 2-night (or more) stay.

Your remarks about the city of Mechelen sounds like music!
It is an unknown gem, hidden in the shadow of Brussels and Antwerp.
If you like Bruges, you will certainly like Mechelen!

... and if you were sad to leave, don't worry!
You're always welcome to visit us again in the future.

See you next time.
Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martin's Patershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Patershof

Address: Karmelietenstraat 4, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mechelen
#1 Green Hotel in Mechelen
#2 Business Hotel in Mechelen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin's Patershof 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Patershof hotel in the heart of historical Mechelen offers unique accommodation in a former church. Brussels and Antwerp are 30 minutes by train from Mechelen Station, 1 km away.Combining original features with modern design, the stylish rooms provide a minibar and private bathroom.Every morning, Martins Patershof offers a healthy buffet breakfast with a glass of cava in the impressive choir of the old church building. Martin's Bar offers a wide range of Belgian beers, cocktails and whiskeys and free tapas at the end of the afternoon.Thanks to the 24-hour desk, you can explore the city and its wider area in your own time and come and go as you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Martin's Patershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Patershof Hotel Mechelen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's Patershof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.