We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's Patershof

Save Saved
You added Martin's Patershof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Patershof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karmelietenstraat 4, Mechelen 2800, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Mechelen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Our whole family stayed there a night to celebrate my dad 60 th birthday. All family was delighted by the fantastic looks, the cosyness and great breakfast in the church. Service was also really helpful for advice and taxi reservation. But be careful and ask for parking , cause it can be a difficult moment to find place to park in the nieghborhood. But that incident was quickly forgotten, it was a great moment.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear mapache_n,

Thank you very much for your message though TripAdvisor and sharing your experiences with our futur guests.

Nice to hear that you and your family had a great time with us.
As we have a church converted into hotel, we try to give every single guest this special feeling of experience during their stay.

We have our own underground car park for about 20 cars.
Upon arrival, just ask the reception for the acces code.
If there wouldn't be any spaces left, we show you where to park in the neighbourhood.

Hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    129
    34
    15
    5
See reviews for
29
242
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stainburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

but we were there for only one night. The hotel is awesome, our room was awesome, and the service was awesome. It felt kind of sinful enjoying a bottle of champagne in our room as we looked out the two stained glass windows. Our room had a sitting area that was very comfortable. Make sure you walk throughout the hotel to see the different parts of the church.

Room Tip: Room 225 is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The building is what makes this hotel so amazing, a marvellous church renovation. This time we booked a cosy room in the church, which was amazing value and we ended up in a much larger room and bathroom than when we had a room with stain glass windows on our first visit. We even had a balcony overlooking their inner courtyard.
The beds are so comfy ensuring a really good night's sleep. Although breakfast is quite pricey, it is excellent with amazing choice. A really good position within the ring road with easy access to the centre of Mechelen, just 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Linda M,

Thank you very much for your message.

Correct! The building is amazing...
Starting in 2008, we've converted a church into a 4 star hotel in about 1,5 years.
According to The Huffington Post, we are now on the 5th position of most spectacular hotels in the world.

Nice to hear this is your second visit.
All our rooms are different! Not two of them are the same. It's all about taste...
The first time, you were in the church, now you've booked a room in the cloister.

Next time, book through our own website!
There you can find the best deals, breakfast included.

See you next time?

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

this was such an amazing hotel, yes we chose one of the executive rooms, so ours was huge with seperate office/lounge area.with columns and stained glass windows, the bed was very/very comfy, however being all memory foam we found it a little warm (but that could be my hot flushes)we did not have a problem with temperature, but it was mid october..the breakfast was full of choice,including smoked salmon and bucks fizz....whats not to like?????
the location was brilliant, close to everything we wanted to do, like the boat trip, the moored boats on the canal,the bell tower (558 steps) with the best view across most of belgium.the shops and restaurants,wonderful architecture, i could go on forever.
we were made so wellcome, we were sad to leave.

Room Tip: 125 was next to the lift on the first floor,airconditioning outside our room in the courtyard , but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear marion1954,

Thank you for your message through TripAdvisor.
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

If you have something to celebrate, you're right to book an Exceptional Room... or even our Best Of Home.

We receive a lot of good comments about our Breakfast buffet.
You can start with a nice glass of Cava if you like.
We even try to change some details every day, so people have the opportunity to try something else if they book a 2-night (or more) stay.

Your remarks about the city of Mechelen sounds like music!
It is an unknown gem, hidden in the shadow of Brussels and Antwerp.
If you like Bruges, you will certainly like Mechelen!

... and if you were sad to leave, don't worry!
You're always welcome to visit us again in the future.

See you next time.
Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baar, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Sleeping in a church. You feel blessed. Perfect location walking distance to the centre. Very nice renovated church. Clean room, although a bit small. The stained glass window was amazing. very nice breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Hotels parking garage is very small and a bit expensive, 25Euro a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear ViaVolta,

Thank you very much for your message and sharing your good experience with our futur guests.
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

You liked the stained glass window in you room?
So I guess, you have tasted our Dominus House Beer in Martin's Bar... this Belgian beer has a stained glass window in it's logo and is brewered by the Martin's Family. A real tradition and one of the favourits in our Martin's Bar.

Hope to welcome you again soon!
Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place is beautiful. It really is.
My workplace considers staying here a big bonus for employees.
But...

The beds are not that good. You could stay in a cheaper place and get a more comfortable bed.
The rooms are small.
My room had no stair-less route, which is problematic with suitcases.
The non-included breakfast costs 20euros, which is really expensive.
The room has a coffee machine, but its extra.
This place makes you feel like a cash machine, which spoils the experience.

If you dont mind spending the extra cash, it is really really pretty.
I personally asked not to stay here afterwards because i felt i would rather take the functional route over the scenic one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Gil Z,

Thank you very much for your message and feedback.
Nice to hear you liked the place and you found it really really pretty.

We recommend our guest to book through our own website or to call us directly.
There you find the best deals, breakfast included!

I see on the bottom of your message, you've stayed with us in November 2012, so about 1 year ago. For your information: coffee and tea facilities in all our rooms are for free for everyone since the beginning of this year.

We hope to may welcome you again in the futur.

Kind Regards,
Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge,
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was placed in this hotel whilst visiting Mechelen for work. I was amazed by the beautiful stained glass window in my room and I would certainly say this is a great hotel to stay in if for the decor alone.

I found the breakfast great - good selection of hot and cold food. I would have liked slightly more options on the fresh fruit / cereal, but that is just my taste, I wasn't a fan of the selection available.

The room was small, but perfectly functional. The only problem I had was trying to get a good temperature - I found it either cold with the air-con on, or stuffy with it off - as it wasn't possible to open the windows. I will happily take this for the beauty of the windows, but it means I can't give it a 5-star rating.

I hope that this will be a regular hotel used by us when visiting Mechelen though, as I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martin's Patershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Patershof

Address: Karmelietenstraat 4, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mechelen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mechelen
#3 Business Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin's Patershof 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Patershof hotel in the heart of historical Mechelen offers unique accommodation in a former church. Brussels and Antwerp are 30 minutes by train from Mechelen Station, 1 km away.Combining original features with modern design, the stylish rooms provide a minibar and private bathroom.Every morning, Martins Patershof offers a healthy buffet breakfast with a glass of cava in the impressive choir of the old church building. Martin's Bar offers a wide range of Belgian beers, cocktails and whiskeys and free tapas at the end of the afternoon.Thanks to the 24-hour desk, you can explore the city and its wider area in your own time and come and go as you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Martin's Patershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Patershof Hotel Mechelen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's Patershof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.