We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel worth looking into!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's Patershof

Save Saved
You added Martin's Patershof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Martin's Patershof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karmelietenstraat 4, Mechelen 2800, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Mechelen
Smithtown, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unique hotel worth looking into!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I had three business trips to Mechelen and stayed at the NH Mechelen first time but after a suggestion from the customer I tried to see if Martin's Patershof was available for my next business trip. After staying there I booked it for this business trip again and my experience with this hotel is that they are probably a notch above the rest of the nearby hotels. This historic building is an old church that they converted to a hotel. There are two primary "portions" of the hotel, the church side and the monastery side. From what I understand not all rooms have large windows, or any windows at all for that matter, however the klooster (monastery) rooms do have windows. The room decor is very nice although I would prefer to have a drawer for clothes I find sufficient space for my luggage.

In terms of amenities they do serve breakfast in the mornings but there is no on-site restaurant in the evening (Not a problem since the hotel is in the walking distance of Korenmarkt, GroteMarkt and Vismarkt for both drinking and eating establishments)
The hotel does offer an ironing board although there isn't one in your room they will gladly bring it up to your room. There's also a small mini-fridge which is stocked with various canned beverages & water. The fridge has sufficient space for drinks you purchase yourself. There's also a coffee maker in each room. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms have a full sized bathtub (compared to the US version that you can't really take a bath in)
The hotel offers a parking garage in the adjacent building for 20 Euro a night, bicycle parking is free you just need to ask for the gate code.

The hotel location is excellent as it's located within walking distance near the Vismarkt which has abundant nightlife and is a nice place to socialize. The hotel is also close to Match supermarket if you prefer to buy some snacks and water yourself for reasonable prices.

The front end staff is very friendly and will help you with restaurant suggestions and other questions you may have.

A few minor gripes I've experienced....

One of the rooms located in the Monastery is next to a stairway which is made out of hollow wood and at night it sounds as if someone is beating a drum next to your room.
My other gripe that housekeeping doesn't do the same thing every day. Sometimes they take the towels you plan to use again and they replace them, sometimes they don't. Sometimes they turn off the heater in the bathroom, sometimes they don't. I believe this really depends on the person cleaning your room.
The other one is less of a gripe but more of an observation is that their bar prices are very overpriced compared to everywhere else so I usually walk over to the Vismarkt to have a drink when I want.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    129
    34
    15
    5
See reviews for
29
240
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We (my wife and I) stayed for a weekend in this hotel. However, we had a very dark room. Nice to sleep with the angels (see photo) but in the morning we like to see the sky (only a very small window 30 cm wide). Next morning we found out there were very dirty towels (folded) and at five in the afternoon the room wasn't even cleaned yet! So we had to ask for clean towels again. The light at the washbasin was defect. When we left the hotel we only got a "sorry" at the desk. WIfi? yes for 15 euro a day. I expect free wifi for a hotel like this, with these prices. Mechelen is a nice old town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and check your room before accepting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Generally a good experience. Smooth checkin, Well sized and unique room, with comfortable bed. Good breakfast menu - where you actually eat your breakfast in the old church room. Overall a good and recomendable business hotel centrally located in Mechelen.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We only stayed for one night but I wish it had been longer. I've never been in a hotel that's located inside a convereted church before.

I was delighted to find that almost all the rooms are unique. They vary in size, shape and features according to where they sit in the original building. Some have stained glass windows.

The stabdard of facilities were axactly what you would expect in a high class business hotel but the staff were one star above that. All the staff we met were friendly and welcoming and they dealt with all our requests without a fuss, i would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braine-l'alleud
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I booked for 3 nights thru booking.com, and was very impressed by the hotel. The problem was , the first day I took an afternoon rest, and as the weather was warm, I put the airco on, and closed the windows. I put the do not disturb sign. When I woke up the airco was switched of, and a window open. I thought, ok, may be I was confused, and did not put the airco, etc...The second day, I took again a rest, and put the airco, closed the window ..and guess what happened. Yes the airco was off, the window open, So I decided to leave the hotel ( Who would want somebody to come into your room when you are sleeping?) I decided not to stay for the third night and left immediately

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We went for a special wedding anniversary, fantastic room, the architecture and the stained glass window, made it for us ,the beds are as good as they say in the advertising, the breakfast excellent, just a fantastic weekend, mechelin is great place to visit. If there is one critisism,scrap the 3 euro coffee machine in the room and install a kettle only managed to get half a cup , and not very good at that, but everything else was superb.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stunning hotel- my husband and i stayed for a weekend break, we had a gorgeous room that had a four poster bed (modern style) with huge doors that opened out onto a little patio that overlooked the courtyard. The hotel dining room is just an amazing setting and the food was great. One morning there were no croissants left as we'd left breakfast until late and they made fresh ones for us despite there being lots of other things to choose from - really nice gesture which we appreciated the staff go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. we had a package with champagne in the room on arrival and everything was lovely. This hotel is a gem and we had a lovely stay and really enjoyed drinks by the canal bars. would definitely recommend this place, its great.

Room Tip: we loved the room with big doors onto the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martin's Patershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Patershof

Address: Karmelietenstraat 4, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mechelen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mechelen
#3 Business Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin's Patershof 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Patershof hotel in the heart of historical Mechelen offers unique accommodation in a former church. Brussels and Antwerp are 30 minutes by train from Mechelen Station, 1 km away.Combining original features with modern design, the stylish rooms provide a minibar and private bathroom.Every morning, Martins Patershof offers a healthy buffet breakfast with a glass of cava in the impressive choir of the old church building. Martin's Bar offers a wide range of Belgian beers, cocktails and whiskeys and free tapas at the end of the afternoon.Thanks to the 24-hour desk, you can explore the city and its wider area in your own time and come and go as you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Jetsetter, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Martin's Patershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Patershof Hotel Mechelen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's Patershof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.