We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tagines!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Boya

La Boya
Gebroeders Verhaegenstraat 16, Mechelen, Belgium
0485.40.92.66
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 136 restaurants in Mechelen
Price range: $27 - $34
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful tagines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Fabulous warm and friendly restaurant. We hadn't booked and managed to get the last table on a Friday night! Great tagines, large and warming. Very attentive staff and quick service. The decor of hanging lamps is amazing!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    19
    21
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Warm (welcome, food, place)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We got our reserved table in a nice and quiet corner of a crowded restaurant. The atmosphere of the place is very laid back, but they still pay a lot of attention to your needs, and keep an eye on what is missing from your table (which very often is lacking from more upmarket restaurants).
For starters, we had some tapas, one of which consisted of deliciously fresh and butter-soft spicy calamari. Our main course tajines came perhaps a bit soon after the starters, but as they were scorching hot we had some time before digging into them. The portions of the main course are really serious, so you don't need to overdo it with the starters. We ended with mint tea and Moroccan sweets, and the bill, which also included an bottle of house wine and a liter of sparkling water, was more than reasonable, which explains why people still find the way to this restaurant while on a crisis budget. Although it also owes a great deal to the smiles and friendliness of the entire staff and especially the waiter. We will definitely be back for more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant with lovely tagine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went here based on Trip Advisor reviews and weren't disappointed. Our starters/tapas of calamari (perfectly cooked) and hummus were very good. The lamb and rabbit tagines were both very tasty with very tender meat. It's fairly small and was continually full. I'd only say that we'd probably have drunk more if we'd been able to get the waitresses' attention easily. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great Tajine in Unpretentious Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were taken to La Boya by our friend who lives and works in Mechelen. Dark January Sunday evening so not everywhere is open. We had a lamb and a chicken tajine with couscous between us, a bottle of house red and Goulden Carolous beers. The meal was great and really good value. The service quick and efficient and the whole experience enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, B
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Friendly and atmospheric place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

This is a friendly local moroccan restaurant with a nice oriental decor. The food, while not superb, is reliable and tasty.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Boya also viewed

Mechelen, Antwerp Province
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
 
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
Mechelen, Antwerp Province
 

Been to La Boya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Boya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.