We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MSG” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yamayu Santatsu

Yamayu Santatsu
Ossenmarkt 19, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #412 of 963 Restaurants in Antwerp
Price range: $30 - $37
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tremelo, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“MSG”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were not blown away to say it mildly. Superdry sauteed tuna, same salad/dressing for completely different dishes and plenty of MSG (E621) in the sauces: quenchless thirst afterwards and other symptoms.

A bit of let down really.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“disappointing (twice)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We did not try the sashimi, so I can't tell you whether those are all right.

But when you think of authentic Japanese food, you think of subtle tastes and textures, fine (pickled) vegetables to go with the food, ... So when you go to a place that has the reputation of being one of the best and most authentic Japanese restaurants in town, you sort of expect to get a hint of what you got in Japan. And that's where Yamayu Santatsu failed.

The tuna steak was dry, the salad completely un-Japanese, the vegetables not fresh, the sauce not tasty... The bill was too high as well for the food we got. So we ended up really disappointed.

(we had the same experience 2 years ago at lunch time, but then we thought the poor food was because we were quite late and it was the end of the service... This was now repeated and confirmed on a busy Friday night)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“a wonderful sushi bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

this old establishment if in my eye one of the best shushi bars in antwerp the chef is very proffesional and know his fishes.quality is excelent.srice as well and one get real value for his money.very recomanded

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Best sashimi in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very authentic food and surroundings. Apparently the owner/chef has had this place for some 30 years. You can see why. Outstanding food and presentation (loved the sake in the wooden box). The sashimi was more than delicious with an array of fish including sea bass, scallops and snapper. The little side salads were sumptuous, especially the spinach. Last orders for lunch by 14.00 strictly as chef likes to play golf after lunch!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“simple but very delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

i very like to eat japanese food from Yamayu Santatsu and sushi here very fresh . small place but look nice .

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamayu Santatsu also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Yamayu Santatsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamayu Santatsu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.