We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese place in Antwerp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yamayu Santatsu

Yamayu Santatsu
Ossenmarkt 19, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #406 of 958 Restaurants in Antwerp
Price range: $30 - $37
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Japanese place in Antwerp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We've been going to this place for more than 20 years. It has never disappointed us for the sashimi and sushi. A good sign is that there are always Japanese guests as well. It is obviously not Tokyo quality but neither is it Tokyo prices. Waiters are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    2
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the better sushi spots in Antwerp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Admittedly, Belgium isn't the best place for sushi lovers such as myself. In that regard i still find this establishment one of the two best places in Antwerp to go for authentic Japanese food, the other one being "Minato". I wouldn't recommend most of their hot dishes. But then again, most people know that Japanese food isn't about warm food. The Sushi/Sashimi however is of a subliminal level. The price tag that comes with it is regrettable but quite normal for European Sushi spots.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Poor quality and very expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

There's no real point of writing a novel about this place. Suffice it to say that it isn't the most pleasant place to sit in, the service is slow and not very friendly, it's very expensive for what you get, but worst of all the quality of the dishes is questionable. The raw fish is fresh, but doesn't really have that crisp fresh taste that you should expect at that price, the rice in the Maki and Nigiri is under-seasoned. The warm dishes are bland and the overall presentation is poor.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“the real stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Really good food in an authentic setting.
Nice first contact with the best Japanese sushi,....
Waiters - at first very reserved.... later on helpful and friendly

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, bad service...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The food was very tasty. The sushi great and the fish seemed very fresh.
Unfortenately the waitress ignored us most of the time. We had to wait a long time before we could order. We ordered à la carte (starter, sushi, main course). The timing of the dishes was good.
After our main course, we wanted to order a dessert. But we could not get the attention of the waitress. After about 20 minutes we succeeded and she gave us the menu so we could choose. We knew what we wanted within a minute but the waitress was gone and (I think to the kitched) and stayed there for a long time. When she finally came back to take our order (ice crocket) we were told that we could not order this anymore because the kitchen was closed allready...

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamayu Santatsu also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Yamayu Santatsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamayu Santatsu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.