We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch treat and on a good day sit outside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bourla

Bourla
Graanmarkt 7 | Behind the Bourla Theatre, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
+32 3 232 16 32
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 1,025 Restaurants in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A monument in every sense of the word. A loyal but varied clientele likes to come here for a coffee, snack, sumptuous dinner or quick lunch. Classic, well prepared home made dishes in a majestic setting and friendly/informal service
Lavenham suffolk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great lunch treat and on a good day sit outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We found this one by accident but it proved to be a very reasonable stopping off place after we had "walked Antwerp" Disappointed we couldn't sit outside as all tables were reserved but inside turned out to be a well hidden gem, huge inside with a good bar as well. Food was just what we wanted "a really good starter salad which was huge.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    138
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and delicious food in Antwerp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

very nice atmosphere in the nice Graanmarkt square, just behind the Bourla theatre. The best Kaaskroketten (fondue au fromage, for the french) I ever had, and the Chicken fricassée was excellent. Nice big tables for group up to 6-7 friends, and nice small tables for couple dinner. Price absolutely fair, so I suggest to go there, you won't regret it! The only thing I have to notice as a thing to solve is the on-line reservation form which is only in flemish!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Top restaurant in Antwerp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I know this restaurant already for many years and I've dinner there a few times a month.
The food is excellent, there's a very good atmosphere and very friendly waiters.
This restaurants is one of my favorits in Antwerp.
Jan.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good meal, nice atmosphere, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

You need definitely a reservation !
But the it is a good evening. The atmosphere is very nice, the waiters are good and the meals are fabtastic, as well as the wine and beer.
We were a party of four, had starters, mains and dessert and all was well prepared. Dessert was a Dame blanche, not rocket science to prepare, but we failed the nite before, because in another restaurant the choc sauce was diluted so it was a mess. But in Bourla, it was the expected and necessary hot choc sauce that make the Dame Blance a classic dessert.
All in al, you must go there, but you need a reservation, as I said.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good food but mixed feelings about the service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Went to this restaurant yesterday evening. Made a reservation before going there. We had dinner on the terrace outside, very nice place under the trees.
We arrived at 7pm. The food was good, the only problem was the service. There seemed to be 1 very good waiter + 2 or 3 students who did not know how to serve the people.
When at 9.20 pm we still did not have our main course (yes! after being in the restaurant for 2 hours and 20 minutes) we made a remark to the waiter who replied that they did not expect that many people on a Monday evening and that he counted on our understanding....... well the waiter was very polite correct but for us as a customer we pay the same and it is up to them to make sure they can assure a good service. At that point in the evening, there were still people sitting on the waiting bench for a table..... my opinion is that they should tell the people that they were sorry but could not take more people that evening "sorry, we are full today". They kept taking new customers although they could not cope with the ones already present. Several people around us made remarks. So for service I give this restaurant a very low score. I must admit that the main waiter did a fantastic job
Then the food, it was good. I had a crab and avocado salad, followed by a sea bass, all very good, portions not very big so you might want to eat some of their excellent bread with your dish.
One other thing that we saw was that this place must be very "gay-friendly", there were at least 5 men-men couples around us during the evening. Very strange... it did not bother me but it was quite remarkable and for some maybe good to know.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton V, Eigenaar at Bourla, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Caroline,
That particular day was the most catastrophic day in our 18 year existence, and we are very sorry for the inconvenience it caused to you. Inside we had two groups, that were supposed to arrive with a one hour interval, but the first group came an hour late. As a result the kitchen had to cope with over 70 cvts at the same time, causing an unacceptable delay for the other guests. Sorry again.
The problem is not the number of guests, but the fact they're all arriving at the same time. On top of the group coming to late, we had over 100 walk inn's , something that was quite difficult to foresee. And yes, having trainees on such a night doesn't really help. We've tried your suggestion, telling people that we're full. Unfortunately that doesn't work. People even get angry when can't take a table where nobody's sitting, or they just go sit there and call another waiter to order.
About the "gay friendly", sure, this is Antwerp, and you know what they say "the gays can be found in the trendy places" :-)
Anyways despite the long wait you had to endure, you were generous in your overall quotation, and that's something that we greatly appreciate!
We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again and give you the service at the level that we're used to give.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourla also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Bourla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.