We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise on a cold night out.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caramba

Caramba
Kaasrui 8, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
+32(0)32314656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 966 Restaurants in Antwerp
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
1 review
“A nice surprise on a cold night out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

While wandering through antwerp with my girlfriend, we stumbled upon this place. There was one cosy table avaliable for us, and it seemed we arrived just in time 'cause afterwards people came flooding in. The waiter was very friendly, and was working efficiently. We got our meals rather quick (id say in under 15minutes).
We ordered half a litre of housewine, which wasnt adequate.
The portion where sufficient, but could've been a little bigger.

A nice surprise for both of us!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ronse, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Understated Mexican in historic center of Antwerp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Cozy place - not your tacky cheesy place with sombreros on the wall and cacti in the window but warm and intimate - with very friendly service. Food and cocktails were unpretentious, yet very good and rightly priced. Timing was not an issue - this is no fast food joint. Had an excellent time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice Mexican food Very pleasant easy going”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

A nice Resteraunt , with 4 separate rooms. So you have a relatively intimate space for your group. There was no music playing - so we could talk easily. The service was slow and after the drink order it took over a half hour to get food. The food was ok - good. A bit bland and simple, but tasty. It was not a big portion but ok. Good beef taco and enchalada.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aye Caramba!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a fabulous meal we had. Americans in Antwerp eating Mexican food. It was the best Mexican food we ever had. The Margaritas was fabulous. Ibraham mixes a generous, delicious drink! The chef is top notch and cooks with love, using only fresh, fresh ingredients.

This is a don't miss in Antwerp.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Slow service, small portions and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had to wait 20 minutes for someone to give us a menu and another 30 minutes before we could order our first drinks. Not a good start.

We thought the prices were reasonable at first, until we saw the portions. A 7 euro 'cocktail' is not a big glass like in other places, but just a champagne glass -- filled mostly with orange juice. The appetizers we ordered, which we planned on sharing, were barely enough for one person and a bit bland tasting.

The main course was bigger and tasted better at least, but still not good value when keeping the price in mind.

Can't recommend this restaurant at all.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caramba also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Caramba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caramba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.