We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaowang

Zaowang
Oude Koornmarkt 22, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
3 290 55 29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 1,025 Restaurants in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $29 - $59
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
antwerp
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Perfect food, excellent service, great place, and there is a new one opened just around the corner from where i live!!! try that one too

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    55
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sushi Deluxe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Small, but cute restaurant with really fresh and delicious sushi.
We tried the deluxe boat and everything was sooo tasty. The salmon was melting in the mouth, just such a smooth taste. Definitely going there again when back in Antwerp.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great choice for Sushi in the center of town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The sushi here never disappoints! Great and diverse choice of hand rolls, special rolls, sushi and sashimi.

Gigantic boats for big appetites or groups.

There's a few outside tables with heaters where you can wait while your table is being prepared.
Expect a long wait if you dont have reservations on a weekend night since this is really in the touristy heart of the city and extremely popular!

They also have a take out/delivery establishment on the Britselei that we order from and are quite happy with the service/food. Limited menu for the delivery service but enough to satisfy your sushi cravings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We loved ZaoWang. We rang to book early on a saturday night and were told there was only room at the bar but we took it. When we arrived we were delighted to be shown to a table in this lovely small Japanese restaurant. We sat down for 6pm and were presented with the most amazing Sushi and Sashimi. We promised the table back by 8 and never felt rushed or put upon to leave. The food was amazing and the staff excellent. We couldn't finish our main course and were offered a doggie bag. We gladly accepted and the next morning we had sushi for breakfast. Do book though, it is a small restaurant, but boy is it worth it! Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had dinner here on a sunday with our three little kids. We came in early at 17.00 without reserverations and they could squeeze us in if we left at 18.30.

It's a tiny place, which is moodily lit by indirect light. The christmas tree was still up outside, which added tot the atmosphere. It was still snowing lightly outside so it was OK.

We had the 2 person boat with salmon and tuna, the stirfried noodles and a noodlesoup. The Boat was fine, I especially liked the rolls with the crunchy layer. The noodle dishes were also fine, though nothing special.

Service was nice, making so "trekkertjes" for our kids (starter chopsticks with elastic bands) and quick. After dinner we went outside and were fully stuffe3d, but got some chocoloates across the street anyway.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaowang also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Zaowang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaowang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.