We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel in good location near train station & diamond district” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Kievitstraat 145, Antwerp 2018 , Belgium (Formerly Etap Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
179 hotel reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Good value hotel in good location near train station & diamond district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel was in a good location - close to the train station & the diamond district and a but it was a good 30 minute walk to the historical centre of Antwerp. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful - not always the case in Ibis Budget. Our room was very spacious and spotlessly clean, and had all the facilities we needed - soundproofing, WiFi, cable TV, decent shower and a desk near a power point for our laptop and mobile phone chargers. Note that there is no air conditioning in the room which didn't really bother us because it was cool enough. This could be an issue in summer as the window doesn't open very far and in any case there is some street noise early in the morning. There was a bunk bed above our double bed which made us feel like we were sleeping in a capsule!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBACCS, General Manager at Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
G'day Suzie,
Nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
Upon request, our staff will open the window for you next time.
If you plan to stay in other ibis budget hotels, you can ask for a double room without the bunk bed, as most hotels are partly equipped with doubles.
Enjoy your trip, happy trails !
Greetings from Antwerp,
Lieven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    276
    166
    43
    17
See reviews for
96
192
111
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel has a great location after the Central station. Room is clean but has really small beds even one person can not turn easily. Wash basin inside the room. very noisy hotel because of the other guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBACCS, General Manager at Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Nice to read you enjoyed your stay in Antwerp.
I'm sorry some other guests interrupted your sleep.
Even if we do our very best to prevent this kind of "trouble", some disruptive elements slip through the maze.
Unfortunately some people don't have any respect for other guests.
Enjoy your trip !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights with several colleagues and 115 12 year old girls in a school choir. The basic, little, neat rooms were just right ; a bit like staying on a boat or a caravan, and clean and efficient. Breakfast was basic but all that was required.The staff were excellent with all our students: supportive and patient!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBACCS, General Manager at Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Great to read you had a very good time in Antwerp and enjoyed your stay with us.
We wish all school groups were like yours :-)
See you next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

After reading the earlier reviews for this hotel I was very worried I have to admit. However, much like a hug from your nan when she sneakily slips you a tenner so your grandad doesn't see this left me pleasantly surprised.

Firstly this place couldn't get any close to the train station if it tried. If the station gave birth, then this hotel is surely it's child. It was raining (it was Jan and Belgium), when I got off the train so I wasn't overly enamoured with the idea of a long walk. Walk to the back of the station, passed the weird floating night club (well it's on stilts), come out the back door and keep left, you'll be there in under three minutes.

The station is massive...huge....and mostly empty. Anyway back to the hotel....I was greeted by a beautiful receptionist, which is a big bonus for me. I was checked in, and paid in no time, and in all honesty, 5 days for £69 who can complain, not me thats for sure. The reception was clean and simple.

The room is exactly like everyone describes, it's neat, it's modern looking and it's got a little TV in the corner that picks up some British channels, so I was happy. I like the layout of the room, yes it was quite small, but it worked perfectly like an assembly line staffed by identical twins, it just flows. The bed over the main bed is a little disconcerting, but I can see how it would be nice if you had a sprog.

The free wifi is...well it's free, what more do you want.

The only downside is the bed isn't....quite as comfortable as it could be, another inch thickness on the mattress and it could have been perfect. This is where the bony elbows of your gran come in...and your nan would love this place as it's built on a Lidl for all your cheap chocolate needs.

It's also far enough away from the centre that it's quiet and you don't get woken up at stupid o'clock. I would gladly stay there every time I was in Antwerp.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBACCS, General Manager at Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Blingrich,

I like your style, the way you described your experience.
Happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Don't forget to visit nan again next time around.
Happy summer !

Lieven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Pros - Super easy to find, only a couple of minutes from central station. Easy twenty minute walk to historic centre, Grand-Place etc. Room was basic but clean, secure and fairly comfortable. Wifi worked fine, good hot shower. Nice quiet room on about the fifth floor, facing the street (barely even saw any other guests around). Friendly staff who spoke good English and were happy to offer assistance on sightseeing, where to eat, etc. Overall great value for money!

Cons - Got a triple room (two separate singles and a bunk bed on top) although we requested a double - a bit weird sleeping in separate beds from your partner while on holiday, but oh well. Room was very stuffy and window didn't open enough to let in a breeze, uncomfortably warm at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBACCS, General Manager at Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Blingrich,

I like your style, the way you described your experience.
Happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Don't forget to visit nan again next time around.
Happy summer !

Lieven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station

Address: Lange Kievitstraat 145, Antwerp 2018 , Belgium (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station 1*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This budget hotel in the heart of the Diamond district offers functionally furnished modern rooms with satellite TV, only 200 metres from Antwerp Central Railway Station. ibis budget Antwerpen Central Station features air conditioning in all public areas, as well as a 24-hour front desk and vending machines with drinks and snacks.Each of the rooms at ibis budget Antwerpen Central Station includes a work desk, and private shower / toilet.Antwerp Zoo is only 300 metres away. Ibis budget Antwerpen is a 10-minute walk from the De Meir shopping street, and close to the charming "Dageraadplaats" and Art Déco Cogels-Osylei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Antwerpen Centrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.