We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matelote

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Matelote to your Saves list
Hotel Matelote
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haarstraat 11A, Antwerp 2000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The location for this hotel is superb, steps away from the historical center. The staff was very nice and had helpful suggestions. It is a small hotel and has a very inviting common area. If I were to visit the city, I would definitely stay here again but not in the two story room with the spiral staircase.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the room that has two stories and a connecting spiral staircase. The bedroom is upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    77
    35
    14
    0
See reviews for
11
121
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our Managing Director travels to Belgium at least 4 times per year. Hotel Matelote has been a wonderful find in Antwerp. It provides comfort and excellent location and service. The staff are always accommodating and even were able to save an item left behind on one trip and return it on another trip. Room preferences are remembered and they are wonderful to work with given I have to communicate with them from the other side of the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hotel Matelote is a beautiful boutique hotel with a modern interior. It is located in a quiet side street in the middle of the historical centre and just around the corner of the central square. The location is perfect for exploring Antwerp and its many cultural sights, restaurants, cafes and shops.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and modern. All the rooms are different and the one is even more beautiful than the other. My personal favourite is the junior suite, a large and bright room with a high ceiling and an amazing bathroom with a disco ball to create a romantic atmosphere.

The continental breakfast is deliciously fresh with lots of variety and open for free coffee and drinks all day long! There is free WiFi in the entire hotel and there is a public parking nearby.

The staff is extremely nice and accomodating. They are exceptionally helpful and go way beyond their call of duty to ensure you have a pleasant stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for great value for their money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The husband made reservations for this trip (Amsterdam, Antwerp, Bruges, Brussells) and called our reservation a"splurge." What a lovely surprise! Tucked away on a side street and somewhat nondescript on the outside, the inside is a modern oasis. We were greeted with great friendliness, given a free upgrade, given a map, tour of our room and a beer. The room was clean and modern and lovely. The shower and bath fixtures were a little tricky, but not a huge distaction. Breakfast was nice and we were able to store our bags for most of the day.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walmer, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location, close to the central squares and on this visit The Christmas Market. We stayed only one night but thought we would like to return. Although we did have hot water problems in the morning this was resolved and the manager was very apologetic. Very modern minimalist room and breakfast area, but very comfortable. Breakfast was typical continental fayre and good. Water and two soft drinks in the room were welcome. We had room 3 on the first floor and would book this room again as there was only one flight of stairs to it. We parked in an underground car park for the 24 hrs we were in Antwerp which was on Ernest Van Dijck Kaai, less than 5 minutes walk away. I had told the Hotel this was a birthday treat for my husband, they duly left chocolates for him with good wishes.

Room Tip: It appears rooms 1,2 and 3 are only one flight up. Room 3 has large bathroom on same level as bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Spain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Located close to the cathedral and grotte markt, and to the restaurants and brasseries, but in a quiet side street. Very nice personal. Rooms are big and new, with free wifi. They also offer some free drinks from the minibar.
Nothing to complain about.
Would repeat for sure

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent one night in Antwerp before leaving on our holiday. Like always, I checked tripadvisor to find an hotel and I stumbled onto this hotel.
It's in a carfree street, just about 100 meters from City Hall, the Handschoenmarkt and the Groenplaats so dead centre. The interior of the hotel is real trendy and well kept. The rooms are spacious and everything you need is right there. The price is very reasonable and again the location is fantastic. We parked our car in an underground Q-park at the Grote Markt ( max 18 euro a day ). From there, it's just a 2 minute walk to the hotel. An alternative for parking could be parking your car at the Kaai near the river.
The reception at the hotel was warm and friendly and after checking the room, we were invited downstairs to have a complementary glass of Cava, which was a really nice touch.
No downsides to this hotel whatsoever, It's always a challenge to find an affordable nice hotel in the centre but this one really nails it!! Highly recommend this hotel, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: It's a carfree street so no noise issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Matelote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matelote

Address: Haarstraat 11A, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#9 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matelote 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the peaceful Haarstraat the Hotel is ideally located in the old centre of Antwerp, a stone's throw away from the city's cultural highlights and some of its best shopping. 10 Individually designed rooms. Broadband internet, flat screens, cable TV, in-room safes, minibar and a music system in every room. There is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Matelote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matelote Hotel Antwerp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Matelote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.