We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camesina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Camesina to your Saves list
Camesina
Mozartstraat 19, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 108 Antwerp B&B and Inns
Durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We cannot speak highly enough of the Camesina.The ensuit rooms are clean comfortable and elegant,with many extra touches, such as the bottled water,nesspresso coffee maker,kettle with a range of tea, and small chocolate bars.There is a t.v. with two english channels and some D.V.D.s should you wish to stay in.On arrival thre was a welcome tray with chocolate licqueurs.
The champagne breakfasts were the highlight of the stay,and are delicious and plentyful.Our hostess Greetje was welcoming and helpful,she gave us her mobile number in case we needed help when out.She can also get you a ten trip ticket for the bus/tram network for eight euro which is good value.
The only minus is the steep stairs, and Greetje insisted on bringing our suitcase up for us.We felt the room was worth the climb.It is about a 25min walk to the centre but as there is a tram stop round the corner this was not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

We stayed in Josepha, one of 5 rooms in this stunningly refurbished old townhouse in a quiet part of the city. Our room was well stocked daily with fruit, bottled water, loose leaf teas, filter coffee, chocolate bars and complementary bottles of chocolate/orange liqueurs; all welcome after a hard day's sightseeing.

The Harmony tram stop is near the B&B. A frequent number 15 tram takes you to/from the Central Station and the number 7 takes you to the old town centre. Ask Greetje about the cheap 10 trip tram tickets which are very convenient to use and nearly halve the cost of tram travel. Alternatively its a pleasant 25 minute walk to the cathedral in the heart of the city.

Breakfast is a real highlight of this B&B and each room is asked to note the time they'd like their breakfast next morning so that Greetje can serve everything fresh. By the end of our stay we were getting used to the champagne accompanying our orange juice, bowl of fruit topped with youghurt and honey, warm rolls, pastries, selection of meat, cheese, jams, chocolate bars and varied hot dishes. We were made very welcome by Greetje and would definitely stay here again when next in Antwerp

  • Liked — interesting decor, spacious rooms, great breakfasts and welcoming hostess
  • Disliked — steep, narrow staircases to all rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

We have stayed in Camesina 4 times before,and it is our only second home in Antwerp. Thanks to Greetje who made our each stay very pleasant.

It is located in the city center,yet far from the noise and crowd,in a beautiful street. It is very reachable from central station by tram,only a few stops,then a few minutes walk. So no need for a taxi.You will be given the password of the front door,so you are trusted and can come and go out anytime you want.

The rooms are really big, comfortable,very well decorated.We stayed at each suite once, and our favorite was the Suite Josepha. What a beautifully decorated,colourful room! Josepha has a separate bathtub and shower.The top floor Suite Aloisia is smaller but has a private terrace that you can enjoy.
Also,the last time we were there they were decorating 2 new suites,and those rooms were HUGE,one of them had a big bookcase and studying table,and a leather couch. We were told that the website will be updated soon.So the future guests should ask about those new rooms.

We had more than we needed at each stay.The most comfortable king bed ever,big pillows,satin sheets,real parquet floors,well working central heating for cold nights,warm welcoming,central location, very special breakfast anytime you want,and personalized service.There were welcome drinks in our room,2 small bottles of chocolate and orange liquour. Yummy. Minibar was full of nice wines,beers and soft drinks.Tea and coffee making facility was not just regular tea and coffee.It included a bowl of fresh herbal tea leaves,black tea,espresso bags and chocolates.There were 2 small trays in the bathroom counter,for male and female guest. Each included a bottle of Spa water,deo spray,make up cottons,nail files for female and other bathroom amenities.The big bathtub in Josepha was great to relax and we had great time at the sunny terrace in Aloisia,watching the green park nearby.

The breakfast was different everytime,we wrote down the time we wanted to have breakfast in the notebook downstairs,so no hurries and waking up early.Breakfast room was also very well decorated,pretty and a small room.We were served champagne,smoked salmon,vegatable quiche,fruits with yoghurt,all types of cheese,fresh tea,coffee,orange juice,bread,nutella,cereals,belgian truffles,chocolate mousse and many more that i cant remember now.It was fresh,home made,and very tasty.

I strongly recommend this B&B for a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Each stay was so comfortable and pleasant.Everything was perfect.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Camesina for 4 nights in August 2007, and this ended up being one of the true highlights of our trip through Belgium and France.

Camesina is located in Harmony, which is a quiet residential neighborhood of Antwerp, away from all the tourists. There is a tram stop right nearby which you can use to go into the center of town. Otherwise, it's about a ~25 minute walk to downtown.

The hotel has 5 rooms, each one uniquely decorated. We stayed at the Aloisia, which is the room at the top! Gorgeous! Red decor, hardwood floors, a beamed roof, and your own private terrace. Very romantic and private, but dont pick this room if you're afraid of the 3 floor walkup.

Each of the rooms and all of Camesina is uniquely decorated with unique artpieces that Hugo and Greetje have collected over the years from their travels and friends. You can spend a few hours just enjoying each piece by itself, or, better yet ask Hugo or Greetje to tell you the history behind each piece.

The highlight of Camesina is meeting Hugo and Greetje themselves, usually for breakfast in the mornings. You will enjoy them being your hosts, and learning about their interests and lives. In the end, we felt like we were saying goodbye to friends.
A truly memorable experience in Antwerp.

One final note: Greetje and Hugo prefer not to be paid by credit cards but by cash.

  • Liked — Romantic and Arty decor
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

The Camesina is a hidden gem in a beautiful city.
On our first night we were welcomed by the owner, Greetje who made us feel very welcome and showed us to our room.

The Camesina is a boutique hotel that feels like home. We stayed in 'Sophia' an eclectic mix of colour, modern art and luxury and a welcoming glass of chocolate orange liquer. The attention to detail is fantastic and with a very reasonable stocked minibar with wine and champagne.

You choose what time you would like breakfast by writing it down the evening before so there is no rush. Breakfast was a delight and served with real care and attention. During the 3 mornings we had champagne, freshly sqeezed juice, pastries, fresh bread bought from the bakery that morning, homemade salmon and leek quiche, perfect boiled eggs, fresh fruit salad and belgian waffles.

We also had a wonderful dinner a local restaurant called Harmony and I would also recommend beauty treatments at the nearby de Boudoir for the ultimate pamper weekend.

Nothing was too much trouble for Greetje or her husband, Hugo. They made us feel very special and made our weekend in Antwerp truly memorable.

  • Liked — The mix of wonderful decor and friendly service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camesina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camesina

Address: Mozartstraat 19, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camesina,a very stylish B&B, is located in a quiet neighbourhood of Antwerp. Mozartstreet is only a 10 minute walk from the city centre and train station. Camesina has three large guestrooms with en-suite bathroom, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, internet and television. In the mornings we spoil you with a sumptuous champagne breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Camesina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camesina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.