We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great bagels - very child friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnini

Barnini
Oude Vaartplaats 10, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
34858269
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Bakeries in Antwerp
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Bagels, Donuts
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Brussels
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great bagels - very child friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

the place was very nice, retro decorated and the bagels were fantastic, I was impressed by its child friendliness and the special "coffees" for kids in the menu, very creative, will be there again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“nice coffee and cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I passed this place a few times when visiting the market or the Sacherbeurs a few doors down and it always looked very busy. This is a good sign so I had to try it. The normal cafe latte is lovely and comes with a biscuit. They have special coffees on offer such as the white chocolate ginger cappucino and a coffee topped with whipped cream and chocolate marshmallow biscuits. The savoury food looked great, but I opted for a piece of carrot cake, which was nice and moist and had a sweet topping. Service was fine, but I visited on a Sunday late afternoon rather than a Saturday when it was impossible to find a seat. The vintage decor is very nice and even the bathrooms have a retro feel. I would visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So good I had to be there twice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Have never written a review for a food place, but I felt compelled to do so. The bistro cafe is located at Oude Vaartplaats, which is only a 2 min walk from the Meir.

Barnini is an amazingly charming place; plastered with vintage decoratives and has this cute terrace that you watch the world pass you by.

I'm big on breakfast and hearty brunches. Barnini offers a great selection of their famous hot bagels (love the juicy pastrami ones), coffee, smoothies and freshly pressed juices. Oh, you have to try the cute spiced biscuits, if you haven't already had one in Belgium.

Do pop into at one of the “Barnini by night” evenings for one of their artists’ vernissages and listen to local bands. Quite a good way to spend your time in Antwerp.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Breakfast in your grandma's house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Walking in here was like using a time machine. You find yourself in a living room - kitchen somewhere between the fifties and seventies. Yes, the furniture is part of the experience: the more you look around, the more details from a distant past you discover. We were so lucky to visit Barnini on a sunny morning, the radio was playing all those long forgotten songs... Andre van Duin started singing 'als de zon schijnt' (when the sun shines) and it made my day. A perfect moment of nostalgia. Breakfast arrived and I had a lovely croissant, boke perdu, very nice coffee and fresh orange juice. We will be back, recommendable!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food and nice drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

From my perspective, it's a place you can visit to discover new hot chocolate drinks and bagels, one should also not forget the traditional antwerp bread. Focused on trendy people, one waitress who was really rude just because my girlfriend asked if there was still place for us. The way how she said 'as you can see there's no place available for you' was a big no-no. If it was't for my gf, i would have said thank you and goodbye. There are definetely better places in Antwerp.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnini also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Barnini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.