We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Zurich

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Zurich
Verlatstraat 2 | oek van de Verlatstraat / Vlaamse Kaai, Antwerp, Belgium
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #440 of 959 Restaurants in Antwerp
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The food in Zurich is good, but nothing above average. Same goes for the service. There are certainly better places to have dinner in Antwerp, but if you're looking for a place with an easy-going and friendly atmosphere, you'll find it here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Honest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Quick dinner with the family was as expected. Decent good food at a decent price and swift service in this casual trendy place populated with an urban fauna.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good meal for a sharp price in a metropolitan atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Excellent no frills meal for an unbeatable price/quality ratio. Every time I have some business to do in the neighboorhood around lunch time I will go again. One can see that a lot of people are regular guests. Some alone, some couples, some small groups going there for a meal after a day of shopping, work, before cinema or theater visit, whatever one can do in a city.
I would not go there for a candle light dinner with my partner, unless I were 18 and a little short on cash, but for a quick bite of good quality while visting the city for leisure, shopping or business it is perfect. It is hardly more expensive than pizza and other junk food places, and provides a much healthier alternative , it is much better and more fun.
It makes me think of the kind of bistro which often appears in Simenon polars, where detective Maigret is going for a bite and half a liter of wine when he is thinking his case over.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Very good cafe-bistro @ Zuid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The raw minced salmon plus frites and the fennelsoup were great!
Service and atmosphere very ok. Seems to be a good local bistro cafe.
Not expensive. Visiting the Zuid, good lunchadress!
www.cafezurich.be

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“"Decorative" prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We (a group of 7) went to Zurich café for some drinks.The prices for drinks and snacks like olives and crisps were written on a huge mirror on the wall. When we wanted to pay, we noticed the prices on the bill were higher than those on the mirror. We informed the waitress about this. She replied saying the prices on the wall were "purely decorative" and the real prices were in the menu. She gave us the menu, and it turned out every drink and snack cost about 20-50 cents more than it said on the wall. What a scam. Is this even legal, displaying "decorative" prices?

Note: This happened over a year ago, and when I was walking past Zurich a few months ago, I noticed the mirror had been taken down. But the 7 of us won't be coming back either way. We don't appreciate a restaurant/bar that uses false advertising to make more profit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zurich also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Cafe Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Zurich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.