We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently reliable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlottalei 49, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“consistently reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I've stayed here twice this year, and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Antwerp if I had the choice. The location is prime (depends where you want to be) and just across from a tram line that will take you anywhere else you want to go.

The staff is nice enough, always smiling and prompt in answering the phone. Very helpful with maps and directions.

Some rooms seem to be newer than others... but the bathrooms are new and fresh- the tubs are fantastic and deep. Some rooms have fantastic jaccuzzis. The toiletries are great and abundant. My favorite is the towel heating rack in the bathroom- such a nice touch. The bathroom lighting is also excellent, i am rather picky about this detail because i hate when hotels have ugly institutional fluorescent lighting in the bathrooms. The light here is warm and very complimenting toward skin and makeup application.

The lift is tiny- what more can you expect from Europe? But there are 2 so you won't wait long if one is full.

The room rates are great too- If i remember correctly, I paid 109 euro per night when I stayed in June as well as in January.

There are 2 groceries on that block, so running out to get drinks or snacks is a 4 minute ordeal.

all in all i would definitely return.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to a suite with a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evy D, Sales & Operations Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Esther,

Greeting from The Plaza Hotel Antwerp!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and to share your positive feedback with other travellers.
We are really delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations.
It is always nice for us to receive such compliments. We pass them through to the whole team.

Thank you for choosing The Plaza Hotel and hope to see you again for another stay at out lovely boutique hotel.

Kind regards,

Evy De Laet
Sales & Operations Manager
Plaza Hotel Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    88
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
76
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed in Plaza hotel for one night. The location of the hotel is not very central, but it is close to the Central station - about 15 minutes walking distance. Overall the room was spacious, but with run down furniture. Some of the towels in the bathroom did not look clean. There was a note in the elevator that some of the rooms were being refurbished at the moment, so maybe there are better rooms than the one I got.
The worst part however was that the temperature in the corridor was higher that the one in the room. Although maximum day temperatures did not exceed 8-10C, there was no heating in the room. The AC system was set to cooling. I was pretty surprised to find this out when got late at night. I called the reception and they said they would switch it within 5 minutes, but that never happened, so had to stay in the cold room all night.
Overall it is an average hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evy D, Sales & Operations Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback.

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Plaza Hotel Antwerp.

We are constantly trying to refresh our rooms and keep them up to date but this can only be done step by step. Over the last couple of months the hotel renovated the bathrooms on the first and second floors, installed new doors, refreshed the bar etc.

The heating issue normally could be solved by a simple push on the botton at the reception. We are very sorry that this didn't happen. We have discussed this with the responsible department and will be more alert in the future.

Thank you once again for your contructive feedback. Due to your honesty we can become a more efficient team and hotel.

Kind regards,

Evy De Laet
Sales & Operations Manager
Plaza Hotel Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Located in 15 min from City Center & Train Station in Jewish quarter. Rooms are quite big, reasonable price, free wifi.

Located in 15 min from City Center & Train Station in Jewish quarter. Rooms are quite big, reasonable price, free wifi.

Located in 15 min from City Center & Train Station in Jewish quarter. Rooms are quite big, reasonable price, free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this very friendly hotel. All the staff were charming and very helpful. Our room was large, with a comfortable bed, and very quiet. Breakfast was also very good with an extensive hot and cold choice available. We found the location very convenient with a tram stop nearby and just a short ride into the city centre. We were able to park right outside the hotel for just Euro 3.50 per 24 hr. We also found bars and restaurants within 12 minutes walking distance, and one of them (Cuichine) was outstanding. We will happily return on our next visit to Antwerp.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvyDeLaet, Sales & Operations Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Evy De Laet
Sales & Operations Manager
Plaza Hotel Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Hainaut, Belgium
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel is well located. The staff is really nice. The English-style bar is cool. The room was very large with a comfortable bed, although two beds side by side. The bathroom was just OK, not more. A smaller room with better sanitaries and less cheap looking furniture would have been better. Mixed feelings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvyDeLaet, Sales & Operations Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Mr. Dimitri,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest.
Plaza Hotel Antwerp is continuously upgrading and improving its property in order to provide an even better accommodation, facilities and services to its valued clients. We are currently renovating the bathrooms on the first and second floor. Bathrooms on the 8th floor are already refurbished. Please feel free to contact me the next time you are planning a visit to Antwerp and our hotel. I hope the new bathrooms will meet up your expectations.

Kind regards,

Evy De Laet
Sales & Operations Manager
Plaza Hotel Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

A good hotel with very pleasant staff.
We had a junior suite and it was very comfortable.
Good breakfast - plenty of choice.
Just wish they did dinner as there are not many restaurants in the area.
Four tram stops into the centre of town.

Room Tip: Junior suite very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OM-Plaza, Operations Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure having you as a guest in our hotel, and thank you very much for putting a review about our hotel on Tripadvisor.

Light snacks are served in our bar or through room-service. For full dinner, we do have a free taxi-service to several good restaurants in the city.

Wishing you all the best,


Dirk Beckers
Plaza Hotel - Antwerpen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

had a long weekend in Antwerp and chose this hotel - good choice - clean room was spacious and clean bed very comfortable (had an upgrade) - staff were helpful - quiet location and handy for the tram
breakfast was excellent with a vast choice of hot and cold food and bar prices were reasonable

Room Tip: get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OM-Plaza, Operations Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for putting this comment on Tripadvisor, we’re very happy to read that you consider us as a “good choice”!

Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Plaza Hotel


Dirk Beckers
Plaza Hotel - Antwerpen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#5 of 77 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
1.1 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.5 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#11 of 77 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
#16 of 77 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: Charlottalei 49, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Antwerp
#8 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#9 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star boutique hotel in the center of Antwerpen, within walking distance of all tourist sights and shopping streets. Public transport at the hotel. Few tram stops away from the Antwerp Expo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.