We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreary room but the staff was very nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlottalei 49, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
GreenLeadersBronze level
ny
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dreary room but the staff was very nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here from April 22-29th. The staff is very nice and accommodating but the rooms really need updating. They are dark and very dated, the bed and pillows were way too soft that you literally sank onto them. The breakfast is very expensive E16.00 for a buffet. Overall it was just okay, if it wasn't for the staff I would have given it 2 stars!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the back of the hotel it's quieter and they have terraces. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OM-Plaza, Owner at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Plaza Hotel. The room you stayed in during your visit to Antwerpen, had been renovated recently. We are sorry to see that you did not enjoy the style of this hotelroom, but we thank you very much for the compliments you've made regarding the Plaza Hotel staff.

Best regards,

Martine Goethals
Managing Owner
Plaza Hotel - Antwerpen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    68
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
10
56
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at hotel 2-3 April 2013 but what a shock! At 3:30 a.m., an uninvited visitor in one's room is not what one expects at a 4-star hotel!!!. Needless to say, we thought our room was being burglarized and were unable to sleep for the rest of the night. We called front desk and were told that the receptionist was checking empty rooms and made a mistake! Next morning, we received mixed messages on the incident. The Front Desk receptionist indicated she had been informed on what happened during the night and noted that it was normal procedure for night receptionist to check empty rooms. The hotel manager later came and indicated that he was not aware of the incident and would have to check with the night receptionist. He made it sound as if it was our fault. We were shocked when he expressed surprise that we would find it difficult to sleep after someone entered our room in the middle of the night while we were sleeping. No apology was given but he did state that it was not normal procedure to enter guests' hotel rooms at night. Now I understand why many other hotels have an internal lock that prevents someone unlocking the door when you are in the room!! If you have a choice, go to another hotel where the management understands that hospitality and customer service is important !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here for a week on business. Staff is friendly and very helpful. I had a street facing room but the noise from the street was negligible (and staff made sure to ask if I found the room too noisy). Very large room. Location is close to central station and about a 30 minute walk or quick tram ride to the historical center. Good breakfast. Rooms may not have been updated in a while - if up to date decor is very important to you, this might not be the right choice. But all other aspects were good.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a room at the back, which was huge and very quiet and had a balcony with seats! Excellent for my morning sigaret (sorry, folks!). Very light breakfast room, authentic bar. Location ok. Staff was great, they still have keys instead of key cards which gives the possibility for a little "chat". Felt very welcome in this hotel ...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Found a very good one night rate here on our trip around Benelux and didn't regret paying just a little extra for a very well appointed hotel. Warm welcome, reserved parking (though it is free on the street from 7pm, you're gonna be competing with some pretty manic locals, so why bother? Suck it up and pay for secure, clean, locked, underground parking.)
Room was very large, well appointed with mini bar, nice TV, big balcony overlooking inner courtyard, and supremely comfortable bed. Dead quiet too at the back of the hotel.
Breakfast's not cheap though at 15 euros so hold on, take a little walk in the morning and go to one of the local patisseries in the area instead, our hit a supermarket the migh night before for some juice and yogurt and you'll have money in the bank and get a better breakfast anyway.
Tram is one minute away right to central station or to the Meir for shopping, and everything else is walking distance anyway.
Well recommended hotel, and I'd likely have no hesitation to stay here again and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

On a business trip, they just gave my colleague and me one key to a double even though we had a pre-booking, pre-paid confirmed 2 singles. Thankfully my colleague didn't snore much (or I was just too tired to notice). We each had a separate room in an apartment but my toilet was in the joint hallway in the apt. The room had no table, desk or luggage rack. No minibar and no TV in the room. The TV was in the joint living room which we didn't need.
What was disappointing more than the room arrangement was that nobody explained the arrangement to us and nobody apologized. They just said "follow me" (to this apt in the adjacent building). Well... this was the last time I'll be following anybody at this hotel. There are others.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is an extremely well-run hotel that is an excellent choice for both vacationers and businesspeople. Located one (long) block from the Stadspark and within easy walking distance of the rail station, the old city and other attractions (a tram stop is just around the corner if you don't want to walk). The rooms are (very) large, well-equipped and with very modern bathrooms. The breakfast buffet is enormous. All the staff was extremely helpful, especially Wendy, one of the receptionists, who always seemed to be on duty when we had a question.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back with a balcony and a view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: Charlottalei 49, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Antwerp
#10 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star boutique hotel in the center of Antwerpen, within walking distance of all tourist sights and shopping streets. Public transport at 25m from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.