We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Italielei 2A, Antwerp 2000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Better than I expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express on a two-night weekend deal in June. The price was exceptionally reasonable I could see that it was a little distance from the old centre of Antwerp, and wondered if that would become a problem.

Arriving at the front of the hotel - beside a busy road, in a fairly unprepossessing part of town - I certainly wasn't sure I'd picked a good place. But my room looked out to the back of the hotel, with views over the harbour/marina, which looked much more promising. And so it proved: the harbour was a delightful place to explore, with restaurants, bars, and cafés - and more coming, especially along the south side. There seemed to be something to suit all - from a quick coffee up to a rather up-scale meal.

A big feature of the marina is the MAS museum - quite a landmark and definitely worth a visit. It was also quite an easy walk into the Centre - Cathedral Square, etc. So in my 48 hours in Antwerp I didn't use any public transport at all. If you're in need of a bus, there is one which stops in front of the hotel.

The hotel itself was everything you'd expect from a Holiday Inn Express - the format is familiar, and the facilities are all there. The staff were welcoming and efficient. As a basic Priority Club member I was offered the harbour view and a late check-out, which is good.

The complimentary wifi was very slow indeed: it will just about load a simple web page, but you will wait a long time for anything more significant. I didn't try the paid wifi options - the costs would mount up, and it still didn't sound all that quick.

The included breakfast is fairly basic, but apart from the breakfast cereals (which were truly awful!) the food is fresh and good - including an all-important espresso machine. A sign in the lift helpfully observed the times at which the breakfast area gets busy. I was at breakfast around 9.30 on Saturday and Sunday: it was busy but not unbearable.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are clearly best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear doc_M,

I see that you are a regular user of the TripAdvisor, and a review from an expert point of view always gives us a + to other readers of the site.
Therefore many thanks for writing down your recent experience at our hotel.

We will certainly taste our cornflakes again to make sure we offer our guest a correct product.

Looking forward in welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    51
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
31
2
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We really didn't know what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is in a great location, right by the marina and MAS museum (which is very impressive and is a must to visit). It is also not too far from the city centre. The staff were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were more than adequate and very clean. The only issue we had was that secure parking was disappointingly expensive at €17 per night.
There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel and the centre is just 3 stops (€2). We got taxis back in the evenings and each time it was under €10. There are a few bars and restaurants around the marina but there is a huge number to choose from when you get into the centre of town. If you haven't seen it before, the central station is worth checking out as is the Stadsfeestzaal shopping centre and of course the cathedral. Antwerp is not somewhere that you would possibly associate with being a tourist destination but don't be fooled, there is plenty to see and do and we certainly enjoyed our stay. This Holiday Inn is one I would definitely recommend and I would certainly use again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Russell P,

Many thanks for your recommendation and placing the City of Antwerp in a so nice picture.
We do love our hotel and the location within the city, it seems you share our love.

If you're ever back in Antwerp, we hope to see you back with us again!

Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

It's true that the hotel is very well located. Few steps into a center of Antwerpen. The hotel looks very sterile and cold. The rooms are small but practical and clean but nothing warm. Breakfast is poor. No fresh juice, no espresso - only machine, no scrambled eggs.
The room price depends of hotel occupation. It can be 80€/night and can be also 140€.
This hotel should be named sleep an go.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for expressing your experience with the TripAdvisor readers.
We recently did a refurbishment and it seems that you do not like our style. It is for a fact always difficult to talk about "scents & colors".

We stand for a smart choice for travelers who need a simple, engaging hotel to rest, recharge and get a little work done. We offer simple effectiveness of the things you need the most in a hotel.

When you next time visit our hotel, you will see that we offer espresso coffee at our continental breakfast buffet.

Kind regards

Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel is not far from city centre. About 20 min walk from central station. Room was nice, but there was some mold in bathroom. There was a small kettle in the room. Breakfast was OK, there were no vegetables but there were some fresh apples. The receptionists are helpful.
What I did not like was that the room and city tax were paid in advance but when I was checking out they asked to pay the city tax. I had a copy of papers so I did not pay in the end.
When you reserve this hotel check when you have to check in , some colleges had problems, even thougt they had reservation when they arrived at 9 pm they did not get the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear,

Many thanks for your review. Due to your comments we can increase the level of service we offer to our guests.

I will take up the cleanliness of the bathroom with my housekeeping team. And it seems a refresh training of the procedures will be needed at the front desk.

Again thank you and looking forward in welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Having stayed at this hotel over a number of years the refurbishments have improved the quality of the stay.

The staff are friendly and efficient.

The reception, bar and breakfast area have been refreshed.
The breakfast area has been opened up and now takes advantage of the views over the marina.
The complimentary continental breakfast is of reasonable quality.

Improvements to the rooms have seen the introduction of better blackout curtains, updated decor, new carpets, improved lighting and a door on the shower as opposed to a curtain.
The free Wi-Fi worked fine for checking emails and getting local information.
The TV in the room offers BBC1 & BBC2.
Shower gel is provided.
Hanging/storage space is minimal, but adequate for a weekend stay.
There is no room safe, however safe facilities are provided at reception.

The area around the hotel is improving with many new restaurants and bars opening around the Marina. We ate at Ellis Burgers (a 5 min walk on the waterfront), which can be recommended.

The hotels is about 20 mins walk from the centre of town, but as a result of the increase in the number of restuarants locally there isn't the need to go into town to eat.

Secure underground parking is provided at an additional charge, however parking spaces are tight.

Antwerp is a great city for a short break and this is a good value hotel in a nice location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear MidlandsTravelg,

Many thanks for your detailed review. And we do appreciate feed-back for sure if this is coming from a regular guest who can see what changes we did over the past years.

It has been a pleasure welcoming you back in our hotel and I am happy to read you enjoyed your Express journey with us. Please know you are always welcome and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North is in an excellent location if you are looking for a stopover in the city.

It has its own underground car park which would be advisable to get to early if you can as the parking in some of the spaces is very tight but nice and secure.

It is up beside the old port which is undergoing massive redevelopment and is turning in to a nice part of the city - the modern art museum is close by and is a very impressive building indeed.

Lots of restaurants and bars opening up in the area but if you need to go in to the city centre it is about a 25 minute walk to the Grote Markt

Overall decent rooms with good Wi-Fi and good service from the staff who as you would expect in Belgium speak perfect English.

Room Tip: Underground car park is secure and not expensive but getting in to some of the spaces is very tight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

How awesome to read that you enjoyed out hotel and location so much!

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Have a nice day!

Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have stayed at this place over the last 8 years. The hotel has spruced up the lobby and breakfast area with great views and open plan. Breakfast is continental but good. Some of the floors have been renovated. I think the service in this hotel is way above what is available in most hotels of this class in Europe. I am always recognised as a frequent guest, small courtesies are extended to me. My only gripe is there is not enough wardrobe space. I usually stay a week and 3 hangars are just not enough for my shirts, suits etc.
Otherwise great place with a great location for bars and restaurants within walking distance

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Harbour are better and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks to express that you appreciate the efforts we did over the last months to improve our product. You make us feel proud that we have such a loyal guest coming to enjoy and love our hotel.

Have a nice day and looking forward in welcoming you again for another 5* quotation.

Kind regards

Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North

Address: Italielei 2A, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome!Take advantage of the Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City-North hotel's convenient location by Antwerp Harbour and near the city centre.Situated in the trendy Het Eilandje area, the modern Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City-North overlooks the brand new M.A.S. Museum at the Willemdok Marina in Antwerp Harbour. Antwerp Airport is 7km from the hotel, which is close to the R1 ring road, and we have ample underground car parking. Settle into a sofa in our open-plan Great Room, where you can use complimentary wireless Internet.Host board meetings in our well-lit meeting room. We are 15 minutes' walk from the University of Antwerp. Bayer and BASF are a 10-minute drive away, while PSA is next door.Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City-North's staff are happy to arrange transport to the Sportpaleis event hall. Walk to the Jewish Quarter's world-famous diamond district.Our Great Room has complimentary continental breakfast and you can choose snacks from the self-service Grab & Green fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North Hotel Antwerp
Holiday Inn Antwerp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.