We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Witte Nijl

Save Saved
You added De Witte Nijl to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Witte Nijl
Tolstraat 35, Antwerp 2000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 108 Antwerp B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“A Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have stayed in De Witte Nijl for two nights. The room is decorated in great style with a fireplace (!) The owners were very patient to show me the direction to famous and also special locations which I did really appreciate. They were so kind and helpful. The visit was a good memory.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
39
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

5 dreamlike days..when falling on bed you wanted to sleep immediately. The bathroom was a great surprise since it was a room with a tub with feet, the closet, a separate shower. Even the rooms what butterfy frames. I was infatuated by this uniaue collection. The taste of the owners on everyhting is remarkable & visible at every part of this small B&B. For me the location is perfect since it is at the center of the elegant Antwerp South area where museums, cafes & restaurants are next to Tolstraat street!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I did a solo trip from Amsterdam to Belgium then to Paris in Nov, stayed at B&Bs, hotels (one of them are 5 star), and rental apartment, this B&B is the best of all, in terms of every aspects.

The house is so beautifully decorated, with lots of original creative ideas. It really shows the owner's passion about African culture, as well as his elegant and modern taste. It is featured in many magazines, and during my stay I overheard the owner answering phone calls from TV station, being asked to showcase the interior designs, and I'm totally not surprised. Half of the photos I've taken in Antwerp is from this one house!

The house is not just beautiful to the eyes, it is functionally very well appointed as well. The fireplace is romantic and easy-to-use with a remote control; the bed is super comfortable, my jet lag miraclely ended after one-night's sleep on it; the large and gorgeous bathtub is heaven......

The breakfast is both healthy and tasty, simply the best.

Above all, the highlight is the owner himself, very kind / knowledgable / helpful.
During breakfast, I enjoyed very much talking to the other guests and the owner, who shares his interesting life story, and insightful opinions on various subjects.

It was simply the best stay I had during my trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castricum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed one night in this very special B&B. Our room was the Livingstone suite on the second floor. Very tasteful decorated with African themes. A big comfortable bathroom, minibar, coffee and tea facilities, TV and DVD and an (electric) fireplace.
A delicious breakfast is served in a wonderful room downstairs looking out over the garden. Prepared butterfliesand insects in all sizes and colours, a bird cage, African sculptures, Moroccan lamps: so much to look at. The owners are very good hosts.
We will stay there again when in Antwerp!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Perfect location with many nice and very good price/quality restaurant. 15 min away from the centrum crossing the best district of the city with all the antiques and trendy design shop.
And cherry on the cake : the design of this wonderful guesthouse and the hospitality of the owners which make you travel twice the best way it can be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at De Witte Nijl while visiting Antwerp. It was truly a great experience in a good location - about a 20 minute walk to the town square, in an area with lots of fun local shops and art galleries. The rooms were beautiful and the hosts were absolutely charming. We would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a wonderful B&B. Looking forward to returning one day! Matthew & Jan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I knew we would like this within minutes after I made the reservation, because about 5 minutes thereafter, I received a confirmation email. The house is beautiful from the moment you walk in. Too many words would be a disservice. Everything about The White Nile is wonderful. The accommodations, your hosts, the food, everything. Just wonderful! It’s in a fantastic location, which allows easy access into town. The room was warm and luxurious. The bed was amazing, and we often had a hard time making ourselves leave the comfort of the White Nile.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Witte Nijl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Witte Nijl

Address: Tolstraat 35, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where Stanley meets Livingstone…" A romantic colonial African atmosphere, in a typical 19th century house with its authentic elements and current comfort. In a quiet street in the center of Antwerp in the trendy neighborhood 'South', with his array of cool restaurants and terraces, close to the Museum of Fine Arts Antwerp. And within walking distance to the fashion area, antiques area and the historic center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your De Witte Nijl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Witte Nijl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.