We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No seafood platter and questionable service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Rini

Chez Rini
56 Oude Leeuwenrui, Antwerp 2000 , Belgium
032030317
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #497 of 965 Restaurants in Antwerp
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“No seafood platter and questionable service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We went to Chez Rini to eat a seafood platter. What a disappointment that they only serve this when ordered up-front. We have been to many restaurants to eat seafood and never have we experienced that you need to order in advance and this is a fish shop and renowned seafood restaurant and we couldn't have it! In any case, they had plenty of other choices so we went for oysters - which were very good - and shrimp croquettes - which never came as the waitress forgot to order them - and lobster, which again was good. We got free coffee as a gesture for the omission of the croquettes. The restaurant was awfully hot. All in all we were disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    18
    10
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“Food probably decent, service not up to par”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This could so easily be an exciting restaurant. Shame that they blow their chances to be succesful. Good location with ample parking possibilities, original interior decoration, food probably decent, but it did not impress me at all.
On the downside: on the terrace outside clients cope with truck exchaust and noise, and with smokers. And the service is just below any acceptable level. They could as well shout in your face: "you don't have to be here".

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The restaurant is located behind a fish shop. I had a table in the first part of the restaurant close to the shop and had all the time the feeling of being at the sea side: it's decorated with fisherman's material and there is the smell of fresh fish. I took a weekend lunch of 20 EUR (small salad with herring as entree and for main course the red bass) which was very good. I can recommend the white house wine (always a risk in restaurants). The staff was very friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just want to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After being twice at this restaurant, we can only say that we definitely will be going back. In front you first walk through the fish shop where you can see and smell the freshness of the fish, which is perfectly translated onto your plate in the restaurant. Both time we went with friends who really are into cooked fish and they as well cannot wait to go back. At the end of the meal to our great surprise, even though specialized in fish, the desert simply was to die for;
Great overthere is too that they set up theme evenings in case you want to go for lobster or scampis dinner at very affordable prices!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“a find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

found this place by my office in Antwerp. amazing mussels for dinner one night and today for the lunch special, white fish with dill sauce and pea soup for Euro 13.75. amazing and fresh. would recommend for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Rini also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Chez Rini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Rini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.