We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral of Our Lady

Cathedral of Our Lady
Groenplaats 21, Antwerp, Belgium
32 (0)3 213 99 51
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$46*
and up
Antwerp Half-Day Trip from Brussels
Ranked #6 of 73 Attractions in Antwerp
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I visited here after seeing Rubenshuis, and enjoyed seeing the beautiful paintings by him in the Cathedral. I had no issue paying an entry fee as a building of this age definitely needs financial support to maintain it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    223
    45
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Not one of the best in my humble opinion.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Was really looking forward to visiting this Cathedral but in all honesty...well I was underwhelmed! All the various guidebooks had said the restoration work had done this that and the other but I felt the inside was well dingy and uninspiring and not like many other Cathedrals which I have found to be uplifting. The gloom of the interior is matched by lots of gloomy artwork. Yep they are by famous names but that alone is not enough. I really felt these paintings are being over-sold on reputation. Worth a visit? Grudgingly probably yes but only just, much preferred the train station!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hart & soul of Antwerp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Smack in the center of Antwerp, we visited during a city trip the Cathedral of our Lady. 123m high and thus overlooking the entire center of Antwerp! If you can, try to stay on a Monday evening, where you can the weekly organ performance from one of the suurounding terrasses.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful paintings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The main cathedral church in the city of Antwerpen holds a magnificent collection of art with works by major Flemish paintings, including Peter Paul Rubens.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful Cathedral...but charges for entry..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is the biggest cathedral in central Antwerp. Very beautiful on the outside, but unfortunately church wants to charge you admission to enter. You can of course enter for free if you are praying, but it's just distasteful to be charged admission to see a church.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral of Our Lady also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Cathedral of Our Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral of Our Lady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.