We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was just excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aan de leien B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antwerp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aan de leien B&B
Save
You added Aan de leien B&B to your Saves list
Britselei 49 bus 6, Antwerp 2000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 114 Antwerp B&B and Inns
Forli, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I stayed in the big room with ensuite bathroom. I was alone I wanted to stay in a confortable and homely bed and breakfast. This was just perfect. The owners where extremely kind and eager to give me hints about what was on in Antwerp in those days. The breakfast was rich and good, and the room and the bathroom were always spotlessly clean. The b&b it at the 7th floor of a building just a few tram stops far from the Centraal Station (but the host will give you very clear directions when you book your room) and it is a stone's throw from the city centre. Would definitely come back or suggest it to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I stayed in the smaller of the two rooms (the blue room) with my husband, while my friends stayed in the bigger room. As the other reviews say, there isn't much privacy, particularly as the rooms are in an apartment which is all on one-level. The lack of privacy will feel particularly acute for those staying in the smaller room, as you will have to use a toilet situated in the hallway. Which I think is also shared by the owners.

Despite this, I have no other complaints and enjoyed my stay. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable, it was quiet, it's ony a 15 min walk to the centre and there is parking if you need it. The breakfast was particularly good for the price. For only €2.50 a head, we had bread, pastries, cheese & ham, fruit, yoghurt, coffee and a wide selection of teas. The landlady even suggested that we use anything we couldn't eat for our lunch and left some foil on the table in case we wanted to make up some sandwiches. I've never come across this before in a B&B and appreciated the gesture.

So, if you're fanatical about your privacy, you might want to reconsider staying here. But otherwise, I would definitely recommend it. I've stayed in far worse in Antwerp for a much higher price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend this past November. The price is right, the location is great (walkable to everything or take the tram) and the room (better than most 3 star hotels) was nice with modern amenities, quality linens and a comfortable bed; however it's just plain odd.

While B&B's are typically in someone's home, this is in someone's flat so there isn't as much distance between your room and the other rooms. We didn't feel as if we had any privacy and tip toed in at night whispering the whole time we were in our room. Plus, not only are the owners in the bedroom next to you (or down the hall in the kitchen making noise), their extra clothes are in your closet and toiletries in the bathroom.

Breakfast (included in our rate) wasn't worth it - just decline and grab something in the city. The food is basically rolls, packaged ham, and plastic yogurt cups; although, the chocolate bishops are a tasty touch - if odd for breakfast. There's just one dining table and you're forced to sit with other couples. Luckily, we had a nice couple next to us and enjoyed our conversations with them, but if we hadn't it would have just been awkward.

All in all, it is a really nice place but it made us feel as if we were invading someone's home; so if you're looking for privacy, I suggest you stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of Privacy
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

My wife and I had a great time at the Vandepitte B&B. The location is just on the first ring road and a 15 minute walk from the city center.

The hosts were very nice. As we only had a short amount of time in Antwerp, we appreciated the fact that they didn't want to sit and chat for an hour upon arrival. Their house is wonderfully decorated in modern and ethnic styles.

The room was fantastic, with automatic shades that eliminate all sunlight. The bed was very comfortable and the bath was large and had a shower with a multitide of jets.

Hands down, the most elegantly presented breakfast I have ever encountered at any B&B.

One note of caution, if you are allergic to animals you may want to reconsider. The vandepitte's have two cats and one small dog. They usually stay out of the way however, but you can lure them out if you wish.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.6 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#5 of 77 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#21 of 77 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#2 of 77 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.9 mi away
SLH De Witte Lelie Antwerp
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan de leien B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan de leien B&B

Address: Britselei 49 bus 6, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Room with double bed (1.80 m wide and 2.1 m long with two Jensen mattresses), TV and private bathroom and 2 hand-wash basins, bath and sports shower, breakfast for 2 persons included. 2. Room with double bed (1.4 m wide and 2 m long), TV and private bathroom with hand-wash basin and shower; the toilet is in the hall of the apartment close to your room and is not used by the other guests; breakfast for 2 included. 3. Penthouse (non-smoking, 70 sq m) on the eighth floor with private entrance, abounding in daylight and large sunny terrace (40 sq m) with panoramic view over the city spans the entire roof of the building and offers all facilities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aan de leien B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.