We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 't Sandt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 't Sandt to your Saves list
Hotel 't Sandt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zand 13-19, Antwerp 2000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lahr, Germany
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Boutique style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Was booked in by my customer. Excellent location close to all major hotspots of Antwerp - all in walking distance. Big rooms (they call them "suites") in very good shape, with quality furnishings and air condition. WiFi is complimentary; breakfast very good. This location has its price - for lodging and parking!

Room Tip: Street in front of the hotel is a cobbled road, means loud. So better chose a room heading towards t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    71
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
87
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a short night. Got the Manilla suite which was spacious, cosy and comfortable. Enjoyed the short stay here.

The hotel is well located in the center with short walk to several sights.

Did not get breakfast here so no review on that.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
532 helpful votes 532 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for one night last month. By the time we arrived in Antwerp, we had decided to stay for two nights. When we asked if we could stay for two nights, I was told that the room which we had been assigned was only available for one night. They did have another room which was available for two nights.

We checked out the first room (one night only) and it was very nice and bright with a large bathroom with a window. The other room was darker and drearier but slightly larger. If we wanted to stay two nights, we had no option but to take the second room. When we told reception that we'd take the second room, we were told it was at a higher rate - even though it didn't feel as nice. When I asked if they could cut us a deal, considering that we'd originally booked a less expensive room, I was told "no". OK.

After moving in to the "dreary" room I immediately found it quite depressing. I went to the front desk to express my feelings and to see if there was anything else available but, with what appeared to be little concern and no compassion, I was again dismissed with a "no". Trapped.

The room, as I mentioned, was a nice size. It was a long room with the end wall having the windows. The decor was drab. The wall paper pattern looked like it was soiled. The lights were all low energy, and dim. The bed, while comfortable, had a polyester bedspread on it which I haven't seen in a hotel in 20 years.
Unfortunately, I found the public areas of the hotel also to be drab. It's an old building but it hasn't been redone in any sort of uplifting style.
The breakfast buffet was top notch - albeit in a dreary dining space. There's a 24/7 espresso machine. Parking is inside the hotel. The location is very good in the old town near the pedestrian areas.
For a variety of reasons, I wouldn't be inclined to go back to this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at 't Sandt. In our opinion it is nicely located on the outer edge of the old city. Finding it by car can be a challenge. Underground parking is limited but very good. It's an interesting old building and very nicely maintained. Our room was quite large with a sitting area, king bed and a good sized bath. The room was nicely appointed. The breakfast room is a good size and the buffet is very nicely done. Our only criticism was that our room (307) was decorated in a very monotone scheme.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

A nice, small hotel built into some period buildings only a few minutes walk from the centre of a wonderful town.

Friendly and responsive staff who promptly emailed me on a couple of enquiries that were made prior to booking.

The rooms to me are more reminiscent of B&B rooms perhaps than hotel, more the feel of home than a hotel. But the rooms are comfortable and clean which is what one really is after. Perhaps I have become to used to large chain hotels. This shouldn't be considered a down point just something to keep in mind if you are expecting a more corporate style facility.

This hotel to me fits in well with Antwerp and it's culture,, very elegant in its way. The breakfast was very nice and relaxing and it was nice to be able to read an English newspaper too.

Happily come back here when next on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

'T Sandt is located in the centre of Antwerp in easy walking distance from anywhere you would want to be. It is in a beautiful 18th century building, and the decor in the room we stayed in also had a Georgian feel to it, with pastel colours and a calm and light feel. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable, and the hotel generally exudes a relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast buffet provides a good range and staff were generally friendly. The hotel is quite expensive though, but this probably reflects the relatively poor overall offering of hotels in the city.
As a tip, I would recommend a room at the back if you want a quiet stay as the street at the front of the hotel gets quite a lot of passage to and from bars and clubs at night over the weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was our third stay, again for one night. It is a small stylish hotel that is more like staying in a grand house. It is within reasonable walking distance of the centre of Antwerp and the main attractions, and shopping and restaurant areas. We like the fact that there is an inside car park (you have to pay for parking but it's reasonable for Antwerp). The room we had was nicely furnished though not particularly large and the bathroom was fine though quite small. There is a nice courtyard and terrace areas. Buffet breakfast was included and has a very good choice of food and beverages. The staff are very friendly. The carpets in the communal areas are showing some signs of wear and could do with replacing. There is a cosy bar. The price is reasonable but certainly not cheap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 't Sandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Sandt

Address: Zand 13-19, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#8 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 't Sandt 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de charme with 29 lovely rooms, all modern amenities and covered parking in the historical centrer of Antwerp. Fabulous terrace and Italian patio to find peace in the middle of a effervescent city and only a block away from a broad range of shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 't Sandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel t Sandt
t Sandt Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 't Sandt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.