We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, excellent breafst and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antigone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Antigone Hotel to your Saves list
Antigone Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jordaenskaai 11-12, Antwerp 2000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Leiston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, excellent breafst and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed three nights 23/27 June 2014. Very central location, right by the river, but less tyhan 5 minutes into the historic centre. Charming reception suggested things to see and do. Couldt have been better.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    30
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
23
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel, particularly the location. It was very easy to find, directly opposite the river and a 24hr carpark. We had a family room (4 people) it was on the second floor and had fantastic views. The room was clean and spacious, with a beautiful bathroom. It is just a 3 minute walk to the old town area and yet we were not at all disturbed by any noise. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. We only had 24 hrs in Antwerp, as travelling onto Germany, and this was an ideal place to stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We arrived with no reservation and got a room for two and a parking. It turned out to be huge (room number 4 i think) with one single bed, 1 big double bed and a lounge satee, of course not to mention minifridge so you can keep there your stuff (no minibar, all for yourself), a kettle, tv and free wifi. As we really wanted just to be there with each other and enjoy quietness we found the room absolutely fantastic, with a lot of space for us two and huge wardrobe for the clothes. Bathroom absolutaley beautiful, check out my pictures, water pressure fantastic, bath toiletries good quality. What I personally loved the best that room service was invisible - we noticed the appearing of clean towels and empty trash basket etc. but it didnt feel invasive into our personal space/stuff as we get it in all hotels in Spain. Breakfast was nice, wholesome and quality, but most that counts is service, it was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldinga Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed here recently for the Tomorrowland festival in Boom. I cannot rave enough about the staff at this place, from the moment we arrived they were very helpful and were willing to have a chat and a joke with us. The next morning we had missed breakfast by about 10mins and they went out of there way to make us a plate of rolls, ham and cheese to take up to our room to eat. The rooms aren't anything special but have everything you need and are clean. Which is all you can ask for really for such a good price. I would definitely recommend for anyone to stay here simply for the great service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fantastic little hotel near the old town of Antwerp. The rooms were big and decor was average, I stayed here for 3 nights and I found the rooms to be comfortable, it contained the basics, with a kettle, coffee machine and tv. The free wifi was also a huge bonus. The breakfast was lovely, with a selection of breads, egg, cheese, ham, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and teas/coffee. I would highly recommend the Hotel Antigone for anyone who is staying in Antwerp.

Room Tip: I stayed with friends in two rooms, one was river side view and the other wasn't, I found the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We book studio room well advance. When we arrived to hotel, we were given a room which was a budget room. I complined this to owners a couple hours later, and they were very rude.
Next morning they sent us to see "studio", which was like 1km away from hotel. ( The studio which we booked was suppose to be in the next building just back of the hotel). The new studio was smokeroom, and quite terrible.
So we stay in the room, but we´ll never go back, and hopefully no one else do.
At the same time there was our friends in the same hotel, and they did have a good room (Bigger) but they were without hotwater several days. And didnt get any compensation of that.
So beware of this hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything was good. We had made a reservation for parking the car and we could park it behind the hotel, this is not free but very convenient because the hotel is situated in the old city. You go out and you are in the middle of everything you wanted to see. We fot tips for good restaurants with food from Antwerp, this was perfect, otherwise you get often food for turists and that is most of the time rubbish.
If we go again to Antwerp we will go to Antigone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Antigone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigone Hotel

Address: Jordaenskaai 11-12, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Antigone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigone Hotel Antwerp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antigone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.