We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Location with Spacious Apartment/Business Flat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arass Hotel

Save Saved
You added Arass Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arass Hotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Plantin en Moretuslei 111, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Arass Suite Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 Specialty lodging in Antwerp
Granbury, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“GREAT Location with Spacious Apartment/Business Flat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Arass Hotel and Business Flats for 2 months, mid October thru mid December. It was a comfortable stay, but reception is only open from 8 am to 5:30 pm.
Our room/flat had a kitchen with 4 burner (electric) cook stove, mini refrigerator, and separate living room. Housekeeping comes in twice a week for a light cleaning and fresh towels, but bed linens are only changed once a week. They have a coin/token operated laundry for do it yourselfers, or you can send it out like you would at any hotel, but it is not cheap! They do serve a buffet breakfast down stairs, but thought 14 Euros was too much for what you get. There is a Delhaize grocery store across the street, closed on Sundays, but there are other smaller stores around the neighborhood open. Only minutes from the Central Station, the diamond market, and plenty of restaurants and shops, you will find it easy to get around or shop. We stayed on the 6th floor and at times our neighbors were very noisy and we could hear the road noise. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Arass to friends and family for a nice and spacious room at a budget price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher level and on backside of building for best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    12
    14
    13
See reviews for
8
15
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Staying at the Arass was a mixed experience - some good, some not so good. The apartment was a good size with kitchen, dining and lounge areas and wc on the lower level, and bedroom and bathroom on the upper level. It was mostly clean but there were parts that could have been cleaner. Most of the lighting in the apartment was too dim to read by but free and speedy wifi was a definite plus. Staff members were friendly and helpful and let us check in early. The breakfast was buffet style and a bit expensive for what it was. The hotel/apartments are situated quite close to Central Station and the city centre shops/museums are within easy walking distance. All in all we were quite happy, and for a budget short break it suited our needs well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed the Arass Hotel for a week when visiting my business partner in Antwerp.
The hotel is conveniently located, close to the major highways, the city center and there is a Delhaize supermarket and pharmacy across the hotel. My room was very spacious and had good value for the price I payed. There was a kitchen in my room so I could cook a homemade meal after shopping across the street, good when you stay somewhere for a longer period.
The staff was very friendly and I would say this is a good 3 star hotel. I heard from the management of the hotel that they are going to renovate to hotel completely which is always nice to hear. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 6 night stay. This is an apart-hotel...you are booking a room with catering facilities, not room in a hotel with 24hr reception. I had an excellent package deal that included breakfast and secure parking for £56 per night for a twin room. Colleagues in an Ibis hotel complained their rooms were tiny, with parking and breakfast costing nearly £25 per night. Our room in the Arass was an excellent size and came complete with a fridge, microwave and small hob. The bathroom was good size. The room was serviced every two days. There are laundry facilities (coin operated washers and driers). Overall for the price I was very happy with my deal. It is less than 10 minutes walk to Centraal Station and the wide range of eateries located by its main entrance, so it is well placed. Two points of warning; note the limited reception opening times and be aware that you run the risk of mosquitoes coming in if you leave windows open.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchengladbach, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We chose this hotel for three nights in Antwerpen because its location is quite good for exploring the city by bike and tram, because it's got a parking garage where we could put the car and the bikes, because the room has a kitchen and because the price (213 € for three night, incl. breakfast, for us two) seemed o.k. Our room in the first floor was large and quite o.k., only the kitchen a bit poorly equipped. But this would have been no problem, at all, if there hadn't been this terrible noise from above.
The first night a large group arrived late in the evening on the second floor and made a terrible noise until after midnight, the hotel staff intervened, but couldn't stop it. The next morning the noise started again very early, so we got up early, too. The group occupied the whole breakfast room, running and shouting around, it was impossible to spend an enjoyable breakfast there. So we bought some coffee, milk, bread etc. in the supermarket on the other side of the street to prepare and eat breakfast in our room the following mornings.
The second night was even worse, no begging or complaining helped.I still have no idea what was going on in the room above our room. But it seemed that a dozen people were meeting there, talking loudly, pushing chairs and furniture over the floor, walking up and down and using the kitchen all night long. There was noone at the hotel reception on the weekend during the evening and the night, so we couldn't ask anyone for help and our complaints to the people above had no positive effect..
The next morning we told the hotel staff once more, begged for help and asked again for another room at the reception, but weren't given any (they said "It's fully booked", but I don't believe this because there were new guests arriving on the second and the third day).
The third night from Saturday to Sunday was the worst. The noise didn't stop before 1 a.m. and started at 5.15 a.m. (until the group's departure at 8.30). I slept threee or four hours, my wife couldn't sleep, at all. It was like torture, we were so exhausted, tired, depressed and angry on Sunday morning.
We will never come back to this hotel (where does it get its three or four stars from?) - worse than any youth hostel I ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Location is convenient, not far away from the historical centre.
We discovered when we checked in that the management had switched the room we booked for something inferior and noisy. furthermore, everything inside is old and in poor shape, especially considering the rating in front of the hotel: "4 stars" (is this a joke ?).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Nice hotel..i like to stay here whenever I visit Antwerpen..Rooms are good and tidy.. Very close to bus stop,central station,tram station..Just opposite to DelHaze store so very easy to shop for essentials..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arass Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arass Hotel

Address: Plantin en Moretuslei 111, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Arass Suite Hotel)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Specialty lodging in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arass Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arass Suite hotel recently renovated Apr/May 2009 is proud to offer fully equipped and serviced executive rooms(35m2) and apartments( 70-120m2). The ideal getaway for short or longer term accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Arass Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arass Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.