We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Hotel Antwerp to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Korte Herentalsestraat 5 - 13, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great place for a hotel. It's almost in the diamond square where there is a police check post. Easy to get to from the amazing central station and a 1 minute walk from the main road. The hotel itself is very secure and guests have to swipe their cards to get in (even during the day). The check-in was easy and the staff friendly. The lifts were always quick to arrive, considering the amount of rooms they have, over quite a few floors. The room itself reminded me of the 90's, but very functional. Had everything I needed, clean and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was rather good, considering the age of the furniture and the décor. The breakfast was plentiful and had everything a person could possibly want, taking into account the price charged for the room. Overall, I would happily stay here again purely due to the location and safety.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    169
    61
    9
    0
See reviews for
37
167
30
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The strongest point of this place is its location, as it's quite close to the city centre and train station which can easily be reached by foot. There is a large parking around the corner, making it easy to reach by car as well. Rooms are basic and could do with a little touch-up, although all facilities were working as they should. Receptionists were friendly on arrival, at night and upon departure.
This place serves perfectly fine for a night sleep if booked at the right price: although there is nothing wrong with it I feel that the €100 we paid was on the high side for what was offered. Location comes at a price.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms are large, a bit old but perfectly acceptable. There is a small safe in the room with a key available from the reception. Some rooms are facing the streets, I guess the rooms are quieter although the street is not noisy.
The breakfast is nice and with a variety of options.
The hotel is quite close to the city centre.
The receptionist should smile a bit more and bit more cheerful. That doesn't cost anything and makes a difference.

Room Tip: Not facing there street/higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oughterard, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed 2 nights in Astoria last weekend. It was ok, not great. The staff were nice and friendly, the breakfast certainly was not as good as some people say on here, Pretty basic actually.
My main problem is the fact that we are both COVERED in mosquito bites!!!. I briefly saw a sign about mosquitos in the lift but didn't heed it. I see from another post here that the manager replied by saying there was a repellent available at reception... My issue is that if the room has mosquitos there should be a repellent in the room, with a large sign explaining that the hotel has a problem with mosquitos. In this day and age no people paying for a hotel should be bitten during their stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, Front Office Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read about the issues you had with mosquitoes. As this year, autumn temperatures are higher than last year, we still have some 'clever' mosquitoes hiding in places to come out at night. Mosquitoes can be found everywhere, even at home. We have anti-mosquitoes repellent available at the reception. We had the repellent in the rooms before, but they were disappearing a lot. That's why we have them available 24 hours at the reception. We had a note hanging in the elevators to inform the guests if any mosquitoes in the room.

About our breakfast buffet, in my opinion, it's not basic for a three star hotel. We have a large variety of products on the breakfast buffet. Products like scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, cereals, fresh coffee/tea/hot chocolate, fresh fruit & vegetables, cheese, ham, etc... and more than 7 kind of breads baked each morning.

We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best regards, Myriam, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

This must be the 5th time I stayed at this hotel. Except for the fact that it is a little away from the station, this is a great place to stay. Room are spacious. Bathroom are nice and clean. The breakfast spread was nice and large. WiFi was free and had good speed. Most importantly I paid a very attractive price for the room. The reception staff is also very helpful. Would keep coming here again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, Front Office Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for such a positive review. We are happy to read that you enjoy each stay with us. Hope to see you soon again. Best regards, Myriam, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Astoria hotel was really nice, it was clean, the staff were really helpful and friendly, the continental breakfast was excellent and the rooms were modern and spacious if just in need of a lick of paint. Would recommend the hotel happily but not Antwerp itself.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, Front Office Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and take note of your remark. We will be very happy to welcome you back at Astoria Hotel Antwerp. Best regards, Myriam, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Though the hotel is a bit hard to find, the room and the service are good.

We asked for a mosquito repellent.

We were provided with a crib for our baby that was very convenient. We did not like the bath tub.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, Front Office Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. We hope to welcome you back very soon with your family. Best regards, Myriam, Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Address: Korte Herentalsestraat 5 - 13, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel Antwerp is ideally located in the the city centre across the road from the beautiful Stadspark. The historical city packed full of restaurants, bars and the famous diamond sector are located a short stroll away. Antwerp's central station and the most popular shopping area are less than five minutes away. This well regarded hotel is known for its soothing ambiance and impeccable service. With 66 well appointed bedrooms, the hotel offers an affordable base for staying in Antwerp, whether on a business trip, or a weekend break. We are pleased to announce that our hotel is now completely smoke free, smoking is prohibited in all areas of the hotel, including guest rooms. Guests must go outside the building to smoke. Breakfast is available each morning The lobby is equipped with a 'Grab and Go' snacks and drinks machine. We offer FREE internet access in all guest rooms through the flat screen TV Great choice of international channels including CNN free of charge We have secure underground parking for a fee (subject to availability). Guests of the Astoria Hotel can avail of all the facilities at our sister hotel, the Leopold Hotel Antwerp, which is located just 2 minutes walk from our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Astoria Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Astoria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel Antwerp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.