We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Hotel Antwerp to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Korte Herentalsestraat 5 - 13, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Although located in a secondary, side street, the hotel is comfortable and the room sizes are very generous. No parking at the hotel, but there is an adequate multi-storey car park just round the corner.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for the time that you have taken to fill in this review. We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay in Astoria Hotel and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    188
    71
    11
    0
See reviews for
44
187
31
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The standard rooms are more than a normal standard room. The location of the hotel is perfect 1 minutes away from my clients, 10 minutes (walking) to the center of Antwerp and 10 minutes (walking) to the central train station. Rooms are more than The people are very helpful and the breakfast has a large selection of food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your stay in our hotel. It is nice to read you had a pleasant stay. Our staff will surely keep up the good work. We hope whenever you decide to come to Belgium again you will consider our hotel for accommodations.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The idea was, on the occasion of my 40th Birthday, to be able to sit, hopefully outside on the advertised terrace/balcony, relax, enjoy the advertised complimentary bottle of Prosecco, and look at the park, as spring took its hold, possibly in an ironic acknowledgment that, my own youth is now well and truly buried in the sands of time. And then head out to a heavy metal concert to begin my midlife crisis with a (head)bang.

Well, as I said, that WAS the idea. Unfortunately that was not the case. Firstly I should mention that, in general, I do not stay in "posh" hotels. I have worked in/for posh hotels, The Grand in Brighton being one, but I do not stay in them. I see no point, as, in general, I expect not to be in said hotel for anything other than sleeping and freshening up, but, this was my wife's treat. Go somewhere perceived as "a bit snazzy", just for the one night, and, the pictures certainly looked like it would be that.

I indulged her.

I can feel you thinking "Such hardship endured for your wife's pleasure", and some might say that, it's entirely possible that maybe, it was her who was perhaps looking forward to the hotel, more than the prospect of 3 hours of sweaty hairy men watching more sweaty hairy men with guitars shout a lot. I cannot deny that this passed my mind too, however, I digress.

To me, €130 constitutes expensive for one night. I will happily stay in a Britannia Hotel in the UK for 33% of that price. In point of fact, last year on my 39th Birthday, we stayed in Las Vegas, for far less, and had no issue whatsoever. The Astoria was certainly no better than a UK Britannia.

There were 2 balconies. Accessible by stepping through a window. With no chairs on because, well, the view constituted fire exits and the back of other hotels. There was no park in sight, which was somewhat obvious on the approach to the hotel, as it was situated in a side street among other side streets.

There was no park view. See above.

There was no complimentary bottle of wine to go with the whole romance of what should've been happening, presumably because no-one in their right mind could have expected anything remotely romantic to be taking place within this environment.

The decor of the room was dull. Dank even. Besmirched with the air of defeat which had probably oozed from other travellers having arrived here with high hopes only to have them dashed, this contrast perhaps, seeping into the walls, so that instead all that remains is desolate despair reflecting the reality which is The Astoria Hotel room to which we were assigned.

Somewhat disenamoured, my wife headed to the reception, while I quietly cogitated about how I could've used the €70 by which the hotel was overpriced by. The lady on reception, contacted someone of more seniority who proceeded to say, almost without hesitation, that we could move to The Leopold Hotel, for the same price, which is owned by the same company. It was almost as if... and of course this is only speculation... people had complained about the exact same issue before.

So, we were whisked away to the Leopold, where we were offered a normal room for the same price, or, a room that looked startlingly like the room we thought we were booking originally, but, for that, we would have to of course, pay an extra €50. €50 more, to get the room we'd originally paid for, after all the grief which had gone before, was never going to happen, so instead, we took the same priced room, and cut our losses.

There was still no wine. There was still no balcony/terrace to sit and enjoy the.. oh wait... now I see again why there was no wine.

However, the Leopold room at least looked like a room that welcomed people. While I know that should be a congenital part of a hotel room, at this point it was a "thankful for small mercies" moment.

The only positive I can give you for the Astoria Hotel is that the lady who moved us to the Leopold did so with accustomed ease, but the cynic in me wants to think that this is perhaps due to the repetition of such events becoming second nature, rather than good customer service. However, that might be an injustice to her.

Room Tip: Having only seen the one room, I would suggest picking one away from where we were situated which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing this elaborate review, as, without exception, we take all reviews very seriously.
We, at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, have 'value for money' as our core value and will go over and beyond to achieve this on a daily basis. As all guests are unique, expectations will differ. In fact, all our efforts go into making every stay with us a memorable one.
However, when these expectations are based on alleged complimentary services which are incorrect., Astoria Hotel Antwerp is consequently unable to meet the requirements for such demands. Understandably, when one expects a " complimentary bottle of Prosecco (or wine) and a Park-view" in our reputable, well established three star hotel, one will be utterly disappointed. We kindly request a second look on the website on which you made the booking, which does not state any of the aforementioned 'bottle of Prosecco or Park-view'.
When compared to other three star properties in the same area, Astoria Hotel is proud to point out our highly competitive rates in regards to our location, quality of service & facilities.
We deeply regret not taking the time to discuss in detail your findings and expectations on the spot before upgrading you to a four star boutique hotel. This would have been a perfect opportunity to assess the situation based on your findings and work towards a memorable stay.

Please don't hesitate to contact us on gm.antwerp@leopoldhotels.com for further details.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albières, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed there for one night but checked in quite late, without any address for dinner. The staff was very nice and indicated us an excellent Italian restaurant, not far from the hotel, which is by the way close to the Centraal Station.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We always do our best to guarantee to all of our guests a pleasant stay. I hope whenever you decide to come to Antwerp again you will consider Astoria hotel for accommodations.

Warm regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The city itself was a big disappointment that weekend, unfriendly restaurants, no pleasant bars open. Couldn't even pay by card at one establishment where we had a drink, making us miss out on the first few moments of the fireworks!
But atleast the hotel was decent. The area around the hotel is pretty run down, the old jewish quarters, but close to center and railway station.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Astoria Hotel. We are sorry to read that Antwerp did not met your expectations for New Year, but we really hope we can welcome you again in our hotel.

Warm regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

A well-located hotel with decent sized rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast selection was impressive. It's nothing exceptional, but certainly does the job for a short business trip to the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review about Astoria Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially for mentioning the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Astoria as part of a long weekend break to Antwerp.

The reception staff are courteous and friendly and the breakfast buffet is quite good, with a good selection of food and drinks.

The hotel is not in the nicest part of Antwerp, on a side street, but it is convenient for the train station and for visiting the main parts of Antwerp on foot.

The room was dated with marks on the walls and was very warm. We also had to get up early on our last day as there was work going on in the room next door which was really noisy so we couldn't sleep.

An OK hotel for anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Astoria Hotel for your recent stay in Antwerp and for sharing your impressions. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the noise from the room next door. We are currently installing a new fire alarm system in our hotel and new smoke detectors in all our rooms. The works will be finished soon and we hope to have the opportunity to service you again in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#5 of 77 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.1 mi away
Antwerp City Center Hotel
Antwerp City Center Hotel
#14 of 77 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
#36 of 77 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Address: Korte Herentalsestraat 5 - 13, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#11 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel Antwerp is ideally located in the the city centre across the road from the beautiful Stadspark. The historical city packed full of restaurants, bars and the famous diamond sector are located a short stroll away. Antwerp's central station and the most popular shopping area are less than five minutes away. This well regarded hotel is known for its soothing ambiance and impeccable service. With 66 well appointed bedrooms, the hotel offers an affordable base for staying in Antwerp, whether on a business trip, or a weekend break. We are pleased to announce that our hotel is now completely smoke free, smoking is prohibited in all areas of the hotel, including guest rooms. Guests must go outside the building to smoke. Breakfast is available each morning The lobby is equipped with a 'Grab and Go' snacks and drinks machine. We offer FREE internet access in all guest rooms through the flat screen TV Great choice of international channels including CNN free of charge We have secure underground parking for a fee (subject to availability). Guests of the Astoria Hotel can avail of all the facilities at our sister hotel, the Leopold Hotel Antwerp, which is located just 2 minutes walk from our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Astoria Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Astoria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel Antwerp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.