We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Hotel Antwerp to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Korte Herentalsestraat 5 - 13, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Varese, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My experience at the Astoria has been definitely positive.
The rooms are very big as well as the beds that are also very comfortable. There are also a table with two armchairs and the set for coffee and tea.
The staff has been very kind and friendly, the girl at the reception explained us where to go to have dinner and where not to go as we were two girls.
The breakfast was very good, we had a wide choice of sweet and salty food.
The location is quite good, less than 5 minutes walking to the central station and a 15 minutes to the city centre.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest, Thanks a million for these very positive review! Can't imagine anything better to read than this on a Monday morning! Please come back soon to make us even more happy! We wish you all the best and have a super Christmas time! Best regards, France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    179
    66
    10
    0
See reviews for
39
177
31
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice and friendly staff. Good standard for a few nights. Tha room have been just renovated.
We asked by thone from the road for parking reservation, and they kindly helped us. It's calm and clean hotel. Good breakfast. We recommend it with pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you so much for these kind words. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

When we arrived we were welcomed friendly and we received a city map. The girl from the reception explained some things on the map.
The room was a bit worn and could use some repairs.
Wifi was good. The room was pretty warm, but we were able to open a window.
You can use the safe, but you need to get the key from the reception (free of charge).
The breakfast room was big with a lot of tables. Breakfast was tasty and well refilled.
Astoria is located within walking distance from the train station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for these comments. Daily we are working on maintenance and repairs to guarantee the best service for our guests. I see you are from Moscow and we are pleased to announce that next month we will have a Russian TV channel as well! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you soon again.
Best regards, France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Astoria is found ,rather unexpectedly,amidst apartments south of the diamond district.It is quite a walk,crossing busy roads,from the historic centre,and a lesser distance from the shopping streets(Meir).The nearest restaurant which I found suitable took me 15 minutes.The immediate surroundings are rather dingy,but not unpleasant.
The rooms show some signs of economies,such as the removal of minibars,but are well maintained with a comfortable bed.There is a proper bath in the quite spacious bathroom,and the room itself has adequate storage space.The air conditioning worked.There is a Tv with English language channels,but no radio.English radio(longwave Radio 4)reception is spoiled by interference from the dismal low energy lights.British visitors will,however,appreciate the tea making facilities.
There is a good level of service for this class of hotel.The English speaking reception staff are present 24 hours,and were most helpful with local travel information.There is a large selection of drinks,snacks ,and a microwave cooker in the foyer.The selection is vastly superior to the combined minibar and room service at the Antwerp Hilton ! Needless to say,the prices are very modest.
Breakfast is fairly standard,with a small provision of hot food which was kept replenished continually.The Breakfast room looked congested because of thevery close spacing of the tables,but it was never crowded by diners.It would be vastly improved by removing at least a third of the furniture.
The hotel seemed clean everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for this feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you soon again. Warm regards, France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had stayed in the hotel on September,6,2012 .Very nice and clean hotel, efficient and friendly front desk staff.Convenient location in a beautiful city .Excellent breakfast with a lot of choices. I would deferentially recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest, we are very happy with this review! Thank you very much for taking the time to write this feedback. Positive feedback gives us the energy to continue and we hope we can meet again in the near future for another stay! Warm regards, France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Astoria hotel. We chose to stay at the Astoria because of the high score on Tripadvisor and it was worth it.
The location was close to the Zoo and the Central Station, in a quiet area. The room was comfortable and renovated. It was a pity that they didn’t renovate the bathroom as well as it was a little dated.
The breakfast room was large and clean and the breakfast was more than we expected from a 3 star hotel. There was a great variety of food, including scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages.
There was also free WiFi in the room, which was good.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for rating Astoria Hotel on Tripadvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the future. Our smile is for free! Kind regards, France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Terrific value at the online deal. Spotlessly clean hotel, efficient and friendly staff including superb reception staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. The room and the bathroom were both more spacious than I expected and well fitted out. The beds were comfortable. Air conditioning in the room worked well (we needed it during a very hot spell) - but make sure the window is completely closed first!! Breakfast was plentiful and varied, including scrambled eggs and bacon, boil-your-own eggs, cereals, ham, cheese, yogurt, tomatoes, cucumber, all sorts of spreads and different kinds of fresh bread, rolls, croissants and fruit. Add to this the excellent location in a quiet street just a few minutes walk from the station and the centre of town - - the perfect place to stay at a reasonable price. The only minus point was the internet connection via the TV was not explained - this needs an instruction leaflet in the room. (I'm sure it would have been explained had we asked, but we did not really need it)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for giving us the highest rate! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you metioned what is on our buffet breakfast. Indeed there is a lot and big eaters can’t finish all. We are convinced that the day starts better for everybody when having a decend breakfast which is always included in our rates. Thank you also for the tip about the internet. We will see what we can chance to make it more clear. Please come back soon for another stay at “home”. We’ll wait for welcoming you again with a big smile! Kind regards, France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Address: Korte Herentalsestraat 5 - 13, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel Antwerp is ideally located in the the city centre across the road from the beautiful Stadspark. The historical city packed full of restaurants, bars and the famous diamond sector are located a short stroll away. Antwerp's central station and the most popular shopping area are less than five minutes away. This well regarded hotel is known for its soothing ambiance and impeccable service. With 66 well appointed bedrooms, the hotel offers an affordable base for staying in Antwerp, whether on a business trip, or a weekend break. We are pleased to announce that our hotel is now completely smoke free, smoking is prohibited in all areas of the hotel, including guest rooms. Guests must go outside the building to smoke. Breakfast is available each morning The lobby is equipped with a 'Grab and Go' snacks and drinks machine. We offer FREE internet access in all guest rooms through the flat screen TV Great choice of international channels including CNN free of charge We have secure underground parking for a fee (subject to availability). Guests of the Astoria Hotel can avail of all the facilities at our sister hotel, the Leopold Hotel Antwerp, which is located just 2 minutes walk from our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Astoria Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Astoria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel Antwerp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.