We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location for diamond merchants..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Hotel Antwerp to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Korte Herentalsestraat 5 - 13, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best location for diamond merchants..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

the best part about the hotel astoria is its location...
its situated just next to the diamond street..
its rooms are very good,clean,and hygenic..
the service is also very good..
it has complimentary breakfast with the room..
overall very good experiance..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear guest,
Indeed the Diamond District is just next door at 50 meters walk and very useful for diamond dealers to do business but also for tourists! To all the tourists: Please bring your wife and don’t forget your credit card... I am sure she deserves the best after all these years loving you and taking care of the kids! As diamonds are forever you don’t need to buy her a new ring every year; 1 big one is enough! Hahaha!!! As I am writing this, I should maybe sell diamonds instead of rooms.... Kind regards and see you soon! France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    179
    66
    10
    0
See reviews for
39
176
31
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I've stayed here twice now. The rooms are very large, although the carpet could do with replacing. Other than that, reception staff were great, free wifi available, and a very comprehensive breakfast buffet. I would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for these comments. Indeed we have a room for which we ordered new carpet and we hope this will be replaced very soon. Thanks to guest comments we know what to improve and where to replace things! We are looking forward to meet again in the near future. Best regards, France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The hotel is conveniently placed for the railway station though it is a little walk from the city centre. However the walk to the city centre takes you through the main marketplace. The surroundings of the hotel are nothing to write home about with a lot of construction in the neighbouring street. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for this feedback. Indeed there were some works around in the neighbourhood but luckily these are over now. Hopefully we can welcome you again. For Christmas shopping maybe? I know it looks far away but as time flies... Kind regards, France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Located in a quiet side street. Friendly, helpful staff. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast had a nice selection. Good value for money. Bit of a walk from the old town, but very handy for the train station, and close to the metro if you don't fancy the walk.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this feedback. We appreciate this lot and hope to welcome you again someday in Astoria Hotel. Kind regards, France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Room - clean and comfortable in the modern style. We had a room at the back, which was very quiet. The view was of back gardens and the back of apartment blocks.

Bathroom - clean and well maintained. Nice hot and powerful shower.

Breakfast - good spread including hot scrambled eggs and bacon or frankfurters. They got us gluten free bread (you have to request this when you book your room), which is unusual in Europ and much appreciated.

Staff - very friendly and helpful. On our first night, we discovered that there were no lightbulbs in 2 of the lamps in our room and the receptionist did her best to sort it out but it needed the technician to come in the morning to resolve it. We were not too pleased at first but the fact that she did her best to help made the difference. Because of her approach, this was a minor inconvenience rather than a huge problem.

Location - a bit out of the way for the old centre which was 20 mins walk away. The local area doesn't have much character. This made evening meals a bit of trek if we wanted to go somewhere with ambience. But I think this is reflected in the very reasonable price of the rooms, esp if you pay fully in advance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for this feedback. I remember the light bulb problem we had. Now we have moved a part of the stock of bulbs to the reception for everybody’s convenience. We are happy because we learned another thing to improve our service! Please come back soon to enjoy Antwerp; we guarantee light in the room! Best regards, France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Myself and wife stayed three nights and thought it very good value. the room was clean, the bed clean and comfortable, the staff very helpful.
Lovely good breakfast, nice to meet the general manager who could not have been more friendly.
Very close to the railway station, easy walking distance to the shops, cafes and old town.
Very good value for money and nothing too much trouble.
Would stop again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front entrance / road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear guest,
Thanks a million for your kind words! Hospitality is in our blood and me personally I hope to welcome you again and again during breakfast for many years to come (I pretend to work until 99 years old! I’m just not sure if you can already make a booking on our website for over 30, 40 or 50 years... Kind regards, France de Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

clean rooms, good breakfast and friendly attentive manager

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francedz, General Manager at Astoria Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for these sweet comments. We are only happy when our guests are happy. With pleasure I speak to as many guests as possible to see if all is OK because without guests we would have an empty boring hotel isn’t it? Best summer regards, France De Zutter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel Antwerp

Address: Korte Herentalsestraat 5 - 13, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel Antwerp is ideally located in the the city centre across the road from the beautiful Stadspark. The historical city packed full of restaurants, bars and the famous diamond sector are located a short stroll away. Antwerp's central station and the most popular shopping area are less than five minutes away. This well regarded hotel is known for its soothing ambiance and impeccable service. With 66 well appointed bedrooms, the hotel offers an affordable base for staying in Antwerp, whether on a business trip, or a weekend break. We are pleased to announce that our hotel is now completely smoke free, smoking is prohibited in all areas of the hotel, including guest rooms. Guests must go outside the building to smoke. Breakfast is available each morning The lobby is equipped with a 'Grab and Go' snacks and drinks machine. We offer FREE internet access in all guest rooms through the flat screen TV Great choice of international channels including CNN free of charge We have secure underground parking for a fee (subject to availability). Guests of the Astoria Hotel can avail of all the facilities at our sister hotel, the Leopold Hotel Antwerp, which is located just 2 minutes walk from our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Astoria Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Astoria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel Antwerp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.