We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Antwerp Old Town to your Saves list
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hotel is located just front of old cathedral and other historic buildings, so very good place to stay for exploring the old part of Antwerp. Due to conference I had to stay in this hotel, so it was not my choice, however, the facilities are good and hotel has well-trained staff.
Rooms are clean, but dated. BF quality good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mohammad D,

Thank you taking the time to share your comments about our hotel here on Trip Advisor.

We hope to be able to welcome you back on a future visit to Antwerp.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    448
    157
    48
    20
See reviews for
158
439
59
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We managed to book a room at Hilton for a good price, through the Internet.
Initially I was looking forward to our stay as it is my first stay at a Hilton hotel.
Upon arrival, we were given a smoking room on the 3rd floor. My husband requested for a change of room immediately but the receptionist was not helpful with it.
She claimed that a non-smoking room was not requested during time of booking, and they do not have a non- smoking room ready. She asked my husband to wait for another hour or so, for a non-smoking room to be available.
It was after 2pm when we checked in, and that made my husband very angry.
He told the receptionist that it was then the check in time of the hotel, so there is no reason that our room is not ready. We were in town for sightseeing so it is impossible to waste 1 hour for the room to be ready. Moreover, we have stated clearly that we want a non-smoking room in our booking. We have even printed out the booking document.
The receptionist then asked her supervisor to deal with my husband.
Her supervisor made a bet with my husband, where she gave us an upgrade but we must prove that the request was made during booking or we have to pay 40euros for the upgrade. My husband took up the bet and showed the printed copy of booking.
The room we got was spacious and comfortable.
However, there is no free wifi in the room, only in the lobby.
We did not have any meals in the hotel so could not comment on the food.
The hotel is also centrally located, steps away from the attractions and shopping street.

Overall, it would have been a great stay if the staff had been a little more friendlier.
Just as I've heard, Hilton serves you according to the money you pay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear TCKLY,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review of our hotel with fellow travellers here on Trip Advisor.

I did want to take the opportunity to just mention that a room was ready for you upon arrival. As the booking agent you used did not submit your requirement for a non-smoking room to our system, we did not have any knowledge of this request. Therefore, we did adhere to our check in time. The additional wait time was due to the fact that you wished for a different room which was not ready. I am glad this was sorted out and that we were actually able to upgrade you for the inconvenience.

Thank you again for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Location is nice for tourists, everything is at a walkable distance.

Checkin was very fast, as everything was ready before we even arrived for our weekend!

We were given a room on the 5th floor, with access to the executive lounge.
Breakfast was tasty, even though the range of items wasn't wide. Better for evening drinks and snacks!

Room itself was comfortable, clean and big enough. Large bathroom with separated bathtub and shower. Standard Hilton amenities (including their shampoo which is of the lowest quality).

We tried the "terrace" restaurant. Tasty food at decent price, but service wasn't very attentive nor pleasant.

Overall, pleased with this hotel!

Room Tip: If possible, get a room with a view on Groenplaats and its cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Fereke,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the quality of our rooms, service, and facilities met with your satisfaction during your recent stay in Antwerp.

Thank you again, and we do hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Antwerp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Good:
* Excellent location in the heart of Antwerp.
* Good transit connections and parking directly underneath hotel.
* Large, quiet rooms.
* Friendly front desk staff.

Needs improvement:
* Not much; it was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Golda135

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the quality of our rooms, service, and facilities met with your satisfaction during your recent stay in Antwerp.

Thank you again, and we do hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Antwerp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira, Portugal
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have stayed at this location on 2 separate occasions with my family and both times were incredibly phenomenal. My father-in-law is a world traveler and has been very many places and knows the best of the best and he even says this is his favorite hotel! The executive lounge is sensational and makes you feel like a VIP! They have a wide variety of wines, beer, soft drinks, and liquors available that are changed out throughout the day. They also offer a variety of small snacks as well, the crap rangoon was just one of my many favorites. There breakfast spread is delicious and includes meats, cheeses, pastries, and much more. The rooms are very comfortable and large and the staff were very accommodating. This hotel is perfectly located right in the center of everything and is surrounded by many great restaurants and shops. I simply cannot say enough great things about this Hilton!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear EatDrinkTravel2009,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the quality of our rooms, service, and facilities met with your satisfaction during your recent stay in Antwerp. It is especially great to hear that we are your favorite Hilton Hotel. We hope we will remain so for many years to come.

Thank you again, and we do hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Antwerp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We got a last minute deal on an Executive Room for one night and it was everything a big hotel experience should be. Good size room with every amenity you could want, great bathroom, very comfy beds, executive lounge with free food and drinks included. Great breakfast and excellent service. My only gripe if they charge for Wifi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Jasper J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the quality of our rooms, service, and facilities met with your satisfaction during your recent stay in Antwerp. Please be aware that we now offer complimentary internet in all public spaces of the hotel.

Thank you again, and we do hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Antwerp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great Hilton hotel located on the main square in Antwerp, a few minutes from all attarctions and business venues.
Big room, vry confortable beds with great linen and a great marble bathroom.
Breakfast in a lovely sunny patio overlooking groenplaats with great choice of sweet and sour food, good choice of tea and very tasty coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKrygsman, General Manager at Hilton Antwerp Old Town, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear William 1978,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the quality of our rooms, service, and facilities met with your satisfaction during your recent stay in Antwerp.

Thank you again, and we do hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Antwerp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Antwerp Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Antwerp Old Town

Address: Groenplaats 32, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Antwerp Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2012 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town is an elegant hotel housed in an historic building of architectural importance, in the most central, prime location of any hotel in Antwerp, right on the Groenplaats Square. This luxurious hotel is within walking distance of the finest shopping the city has to offer, the best museums are a brief walk away including the fantastic new MAS, nightlife and fine dining all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Hotel facilities include the largest guest rooms in Antwerp with marbled bathrooms (with separate stall showers), Flat Screen TV's, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, wifi throughout (at a fee), and for those needing that added bit of luxury, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town has the only true Executive Floor concept in Antwerp, with a classically elegant lounge and an exclusive outdoor terrace. For families, the hotel offers family rooms and family suites for up to 4 Guests. The new restaurant of the hotel "Brasserie Flo Antwerp", opened since July 2014, brings you the delights of a world-class brasserie on the Groenplaats. It is opened all day long from breakfast to dinner. This new Brasserie, combining stylish decor with inspired food and skillful, dedicated service, offers authentic French-Belgian cuisine using nothing but the freshest and finest products. The seafood counter brings the variety of this fabulous food from an abundant plateau fruits de mer to lobster dishes. Pass by the Bar and be surprised tasting some local beers or home-made cocktails. For meetings and galas, the Hilton Antwerp Old Town houses the elegant Belle Epoque Ballroom, the largest hotel ballroom in Belgium along with 11 other flexible and functional meeting rooms. Additionally, the hotel offers a 24 hour rooms service and renovated Lobby Lounge to take a coffee or savor the signature Royal Sinjoor High-Tea. There is a public Parking Garage on Groenplaats with direct lift access to the hotel lobby (via -1st floor of the parking). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Antwerp Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Antwerp
Antwerp Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Antwerp Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.