We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with gym, pool, sauna, ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koningin Astridplein 7, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
GreenLeadersSilver level
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with gym, pool, sauna, ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at the Radisson Blue Astrid for 3 nights in a standard double room. I'm mostly used to budget hotels in London and never tend to stay in this kind of hotel. I got a very good price and I'm glad I was able to experience a lovely spacious hotel room for once. By my standards the room was huge and the bathroom was fairly big too. You won't miss any luxuries here: plenty of towels and bathroom supplies, hair dryer, laundry line, iron and ironing board, mini bar, room service, etc. The hotel even has an indoor pool, hot tub, fully equipped gym and masseurs. It has a sauna and steam room too, which my sister used, but she wasn't too impressed with those. The location is great. The only thing I had trouble with was the free wifi. We could only get it to work on 1 of the 4 appliances we had with us. Even in that case it would only work in specific (inconvenient) areas of the hotel room.

Nice experience, but now it's back to budget hotels!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhr-Acke, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Danielle, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    322
    124
    23
    10
See reviews for
74
272
34
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The location of the Radisson Blu Astrid is very central as most other reviews have already indicated, but what distinguished it for me (other than I had a very good price so I must judge it accordingly), was the view from the restaurant to the central station, which is majestic, and the service. The staff was truly friendly. The room is typical Radisson, meaning comfortable and clean and the amenities were fine. It was clam. Wifi worked very well and the breakfast was really good!
I would like to thank the staff at the restaurant for actually getting out of their way to provide appropriate food to one of our party members, who was not feeling well. They also showed a LOT of restraint with a (large) group of children accompanying their families to a congress taking place in the hotel. I would personally would have not stood the mess they made, but they were very professional in the way that they handled the kids.
There is always room for improvement obviously and in any hotel, so in this case, I would say the information available about public transportation could be much better: the information I got from the front desk on the buses and the metro was not precise. Yes, there is a tube station RIGHT next door, but in case you are unable to take a very long staircase down, or are accompanied by a reduced mobility person, you would not know what to do since no signs are available.
The pool is relaxing and so are the sauna and steam rooms, although they are a little small, but perfect for the end of day relaxation session. The gym was alright too.
I would stay there again if in Antwerp!

Room Tip: I did not get the room that overlooks the central station, but it should be very beautiful especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhr-Acke, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Flying M

Thank you very much for your great feedback.I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and all of our hotel facilities. I would like to thank you for the nice compliment on our staff, it is nice to hear that they showed it's Yes I Can spirit. I hope we can welcome you back soon at Radisson Blu Astrid Antwerp Hotel.

Kind regards
Dieter Acke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you are arriving by train, then the Radisson Blu is perfectly located – just a 2-minute walk from the beautiful Antwerp Central station and across the Astrid square.

You need to climb up a few stairs to enter the hotel – however if you are carrying heavy luggage, the hotel staff helps with the use of a small lift, which is used for taking up the luggage and wheelchairs etc.

We had room facing the Astrid square and the Antwerp station – lovely view. The rooms are comfortable and of a decent size with tea and coffee making machine and complementary bottled water. Bathrooms have bathtubs and showers with fairly good quality toiletries. Towels though are a bit worn out and need changing. Wi Fi is free but a bit slow.

The hotel is very well located . Trams, buses and the underground metro are available as you step out of the hotel. The Hop on Hop off tourist bus starts from in front of the hotel and is convenient and a great way to see the sights of the city. Convenience stores are around the corner for anything you may need. The old city is about 20 minutes walk or 3 stops away by the underground metro.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the Astrid Square and the Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhr-Acke, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Pravine

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the lovely view at the Central station. I do however apologize for the communication problem regarding public transport. I will pass this feedback to our reception team so that they can can update this for further guests. I hope we can welcome you back soon in Antwerp.

Kind regards
Dieter Acke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

we spent 1 night here on a quick trip to Antwerp. The location is central and the room size was ok by my standards. Breakfast was good. Would have been an enjoyable stay if it was not hot been so hot! The AC was not on and there were no rooms available with air. only a small window could be opened. It was miserable! and had problems with the car in parking. hotel manager is helpful in this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhr-Acke, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Ashley J

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your room and the breakfast. I do however apologize for the inconvenience with the airco. We are fixing the problem now so i do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Dieter Acke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veldhoven
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have stayed here many years ago, when it was still called Astrid Hotel. Again we have enjoyed our stay very much. The room was very comfortable with free coffee, tea and water and because we had a superior room we also got 2 bath robes free of charge.
They have a great fitness room and a very good swimming pool with sauna, whirlpool etc. which we enjoyed to use before breakfast. Trams, buses and metro are within 50 meters from the hotel; but going to the centre by foot is also doable.

Room Tip: rooms with a view of Astrid Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhr-Acke, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear gerardaVeldhoven

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am verry happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel already several times. The hotel is indeed located conveniently to discover Antwerp. I hope we can welcome you back soon in Antwerp.

Kind regards
Dieter Acke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I had the pleasure staying at the hotel for 3 nights during my last visit to Antwerp and the stay was superb. Hotel staff are very professional and good at what they do and the rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Location is excellent either if you want to visit the old city or hop on a train to another city or nearby country.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhr-Acke, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Ststorey

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is indeed located very convenient to discover Antwerp or Belgium. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Dieter Acke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. It's in a central location with friendly staff and great facilities. The rooms are spacious, clean and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast's superb. There is also parking at the hotel though at an extra charge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhr-Acke, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Martin W

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that't our staff showed it's "Yes I Can" service. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Dieter Acke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp

Address: Koningin Astridplein 7, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#7 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#8 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#8 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, located right across Antwerp's Central Station (direct Thalys trains Paris - Amsterdam), offers 247 rooms and 18 meeting rooms. Broadband WiFi (100 Mb) free of charge in the hotel. Underground parking available. A Direct train will take you from Brussels Airport to Antwerp Central Station in 34 minutes. The city offers a mixture of magnificent architecture,fashionable shops, pubs and clubs, dazzling monuments and restaurants with superb Belgian and multicultural food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp Hotel Antwerp
Park Plaza Antwerp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.